On My Wishlist #1

I really like the Book Blogger Hop so I’ve decided to give two other book blogging memes a try. On Wednesdays I’ll be doing My Book Boyfriend.  On Saturdays I’ll be doing On My Wishlist.

WishlistOn My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming. To learn more or sign up, click on the cute picture above!

This week I am desperate for a lot of books, but here’s my top four in alphabetical order.

Bitter Frost (Frost #1) by Kailin Gow (Goodreads Author)  Bitter Frost by Kailin Gow

Summary from GoodReads: All her life, Breena had always dreamed about fairies as though she lived among them…beautiful fairies living among mortals and living in Feyland. In her dreams, he was always there the breathtakingly handsome but dangerous Winter Prince, Kian, who is her intended. When Breena turns sixteen, she begins seeing fairies and other creatures mortals don’t see. Her best friend Logan suddenly acts very protective. Then she sees Kian, who seems intent on finding her and carrying her off to Feyland. That’s fine and all, but for the fact that humans rarely survive a trip to Feyland, a kiss from a fairy generally means death to the human unless that human has fairy blood in them or is very strong, and although Kian seemed to be her intended, he seems to hate her and wants her dead.

My Thoughts: After the awesome of The Iron King, I find myself more willing to give YA fairy fiction a try.

 Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente

Summary from GoodReads: Koschei the Deathless is to Russian folklore what giants or wicked witches are to European fairy tales: a menacing, evil figure; the villain of countless stories which have been passed on for generations through and storybooks and verbal lore. But Koschei has never looked quite as he does through the eyes of Catherynne M. Valente, whose modernized and transformed take on the legend brings the action to our recent past, spanning many of the great developments of Russian history.

Deathless, however, is no dry, historical tome: it lights up like fire as the young Marya Morevna transforms from a clever peasant girl, to Koschei’s beautiful bride, to his eventual undoing. Along the way there are Stalinist house elves, magical quests, secrecy and bureaucracy, and games of lust and power.

My Thoughts: The ARC for this is actually on its way to me, which is awesome. Thank you, Tor! I have been meaning to read Valente for awhile. I am also intrigued by Koschei and not just because that’s the name of The Master from Doctor Who.

2 down, 2 more to go!

For Love of War by Kiernan Kelly (Goodreads Author)  For Love of War by Kiernan Kelly

Summary from GoodReads: Ares, the Greek god of War, has fallen on hard times. Modern technology has left him a proverbial fish out of water, relegated to finding battle of a sort in rough biker bars. When Hermes shows up with an offer from Zeus, king of the gods, Ares thinks he’s finally found a way to regain his past glory.

A godling on Earth has come into his powers, and they’re strong enough to send a ripple through Olympus. Zeus needs the fledgling god dead. Dion, the godling in question, has no idea of his Olympian roots until he wakes up to find Ares there to kill him. But Dion isn’t totally defenseless, and Ares soon discovers he’s caught in a web of lies that only the Fates will be able to untangle. 

My Thoughts: This? Looks awesome! And I never would have even taken a look at this if it wasn’t for Dreamspinner advertising on Smart Bitches, Love Trashy Books. I’ll definitely be ordering it soon.

Infected: Prey (Infected #1) by Andrea Speed (Goodreads Author)  Infected: Prey by Andrea Speed 

Summary from GoodReads: In a world where a werecat virus has changed society, Roan McKichan, a born infected and ex-cop, works as a private detective trying to solve crimes involving other infecteds.The murder of a former cop draws Roan into an odd case where an unidentifiable species of cat appears to be showing an unusual level of intelligence. He juggles that with trying to find a missing teenage boy, who, unbeknownst to his parents, was “cat” obsessed. And when someone is brutally murdering infecteds, Eli Winters, leader of the Church of the Divine Transformation, hires Roan to find the killer before he closes in on Eli.Working the crimes will lead Roan through a maze of hate, personal grudges, and mortal danger. With help from his tiger-strain infected partner, Paris Lehane, he does his best to survive in a world that hates and fears their kind… and occasionally worships them.

My Thoughts: Sometimes I just get to the point where I would just love to read a Paranormal or Urban Fantasy that more prominently features gay characters. The best way to ensure this happens is to pick a series where the main character is gay so I’m pretty excited about this book and its sequel. Plus the plot sounds really neat and I’m a fan of werecats.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, Reads That Got Away, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On My Wishlist #1

  1. Pussreboots says:

    I have ten new wishes. They are from the start of the year. Come see what I’m wishing for.

  2. Lori says:

    Infected:Prey and For Love and War both look very appealing. I will be look a bit closer at those myself. Thanks. I hope that you get the books you have listed on your wishlist and that they are everything you hope them to be. Check out what is On My Wishlist.

    • They look very promising. Right now I’m really torn about getting Infected:Prey (and probably its sequel) as an e-book or as just a regular book.

      Once I decide, I’ll be ordering both of them and thank you! I really hope they’re good too. :)

Leave a Reply

