Book Blogger Hop: 6/24-6/27

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “When did you realize reading was your passion and a truly important part of your life?”

Books, reading, and writing have been pretty much a vital part of my life since forever. And reading voraciously has always been my useless mutant super power. So when I had a realization about reading, it was more along the lines of shock and horror that there were people out there who didn’t give one fig about reading one way or another and still others who loathed it.

Personally, I don’t think there has ever been a time in my life when I felt less than completely enamoured by reading. As a small child I was always being read to and when I was around 3 or 4, I began to teach myself how to read so I wouldn’t have to go without books when my parents were doing other things.

My family was –and has been– mostly supportive although there were times when I was younger where one or more of them would get a bit annoyed or baffled by how hard it was to get me to stop reading. Or by the fact that I literally could not hear anything when I was reading because I tended to get pretty much engulfed in whatever story I was on.

I am not quite the reader as I was as a kid or even as a teen in that it isn’t as easy for me to get lost in a book most of the time, but I still am in love with reading and always will be.

When did you realize you loved to read? Feel free to link me to your post in a comment, and I’ll check it out.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 6/24-6/27

  1. Being a librarian, sigh, surrounded by books, that’s the life! I think I read now more than I ever have, but I don’t remember ever NOT reading anything.

    Our post is here.

  2. When did I first realize I loved reading? I wish I could prove a pre-natal predilection towards books but my memories don’t stretch back quite that far.

    The earliest memories I can recall involved books. First having them read to me then reading them on my own the minute I had the ability.

    Books have been a major part of my life ever since. My passion for the written word knowing no bounds, I started writing books on top of reading them about ten years ago.

    Want to know what my favorite childhood book was? Hop on over to my blog and find out: http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard Sherman, Implementor

    http://www.howardsherman.net

  3. Pingback: Author Interview: Stephanie Blough author of Love and Fangs | Books in the News

  4. Pat says:

    I think reading and writing comes hand-in-hand.
    I tried many times to encourage a friend or a co-worker to read the novel of a movie adaptation, but they refuse flat out. And I make them help me understand.

    http://www.peaceloveandreviews.com/2011/06/book-blogger-hop-2.html

    • I agree and that’s too bad. I think a lot of the issues people end up having with a lot of movies would definitely be solved by reading or at least learning about what they’re based on.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Grace says:

    Hopping by thanks to this week’s Book Blogger Hop! I just don’t understand how people can go through life without reading or, even worse, despising it!

    Here’s my Book Blogger Hop

  6. Pussreboots says:

    My daughter started reading this year. It’s fun to see what books she chooses for herself. I realized how important books had become in my life in 1999. Come see what happened.

Leave a Reply

