Reader’s Progress #26

My own weekly meme where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week.

Listened To:
Bad Business by Robert B. Parker, read by Joe Mantegna – 3 Stars. Sort of a let-down compared to the other books in this series that I’ve read or listened to thus far.

Read:
The Tower of the Elephant and Other Stories: Chronicles of Conan vol. 1 by Roy Thomas – 3 Stars. The first of many graphic novel adaptations of Robert E. Howard’s stories. Not bad, but it suffers from the same thing all old comic books suffer from: too much explanation to go along with visual images. I always feel like those old comic book scripts would probably haved worked better for radio dramas.

Conan vol. 1: The Frost Giant’s Daughter And Other Stories by Kurt Busiek – 4 Stars. A much more successful graphic novel adaptation of Conan stories. The tales were creepier, the illustrations more vivid, and the text and images worked together to tell a story.

Reviewed:
Hundred-Dollar Baby, Rough Weather, and Sixkill by Robert B. Parker, read by Joe Mantegna
I’m Not Her by Janet Gurtler
A Wedding Wager by Jane Feather

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

