Book Blogger Hop: 7/15-7/18

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “How/Where do you get your books? Do you buy them or go to the library? Is there a certain website you use like paperbackswap?”

The short answer is everywhere and anywhere because I’m an addict, but the long answer is more complicated and (hopefully) more interesting.

For the most part, I get my books from the library I work at or the library in my hometown which is connected to tons of other libraries. Some of this is simply the fact that I have no room for the books I already get on a regular basis, but most of this is it simply keeps costs down since, as a librarian, I have access to a lot of books and I don’t pay fines. Besides, I check out more books than I could ever read, and lately I’ve gotten back into audio books. There’s just no way I could afford this if I bought everything.

I do, of course, supplement this by buying the occasional book through Amazon, Barnes & Noble, indepedent bookstores, and used bookstores if the author is a favorite or the genre is just hard to come by.  Most of my book purchases tend to be gifts though.

Other sources I use are:

- NetGalley which offers up e-galleys from a wide variety of publishers and in a wide variety of genres. Requesting is fairly straightforward and I’ve yet to be denied access to a title. I would highly suggest checking it out!

- Shelf Awareness, a free and awesome e-newsletter about books and the book industry. It’s worth subscribing to just for the daily info, news, interviews, and essays on book-related topics, but there are also plenty of ads that will link you to ARC and e-galley giveaways making it even more worth your while to subscribe.

- Book Blogs , which can be a bit hit or miss, there’s always a lot going on and there’s plenty of giveaways to check out in whatever genre you like to focus on or read. I would definitely suggest looking into the Gallery and Pocket Book Tour options!

- Book Blogs and Book Tours. This one doesn’t need much explanation, but I would definitely suggest checking out Book Tours. They can be a lot of fun and they’re good for you. And if you’re a fan of Romance and e-books, you definitely want to check out The Bookish Snob Promotions.

- Last but definitely not least… Publishers. I can’t speak to everyone’s experience, but honestly? It never hurts to just contact a publisher through their publicity department to ask after a book that’s coming out in the near or even slightly distant future. It may seem daunting, but be brave and send that e-mail!

Keep in mind though that this does require some work on your part particularly if you’re new or, like me, just starting out. Still, it is definitely worth it since most of that work you’d be doing anyway (i.e. reading and reviewing the book). Keep in mind also that they might ask after stats and ask you to fill out a short questionnaire. There will also be different policies and some houses/presses/what-have-you will want more or less advanced notice than others, but the bottom line is that publicists are really great people. Seriously. Awesome people.  

Besides, the absolute worst thing that can happen is no one gets back to you or you’ll be told is no, there aren’t any review copies or ARCs available. In those situations, I usually end up just getting the book through some other means once it is released.

Where do you get your books from? Feel free to link me to your post in a comment, and I’ll check it out!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop, Bookish Thoughts, Library Perks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 7/15-7/18

  1. I’m seeing a pattern of book acquisition here. After all, there are just so many places to get books and so many different ways to read them.

    It’s hard to beat the library for price and selection but it’s even harder to beat the convenience of browsing BN or Amazon from a Nook or Kindle, hitting a button and reading the book you picked in about sixty seconds.

    As usual, my answer to this week’s Book Blogger Hop question is all over the map. Hop on over and read my multipart answer – http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard A. Sherman, Implementor
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  2. kristin says:

    New follower stopping on by…

    Kristin @ http://kristincanread.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

