Book Blogger Hop: 10/14-10/17

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “What is your favorite spooky book (i.e. mystery/suspense, thriller, ghost story, etc.)?”

It would be impossible for me to just pick one, but there is a scary, spooky series that has been on my mind a lot now that Halloween is approaching. And that would be The Demonata by Darren Shan.

Demonata by Darren Shan

Werewolves and Demons and Chess. Oh my!

I love these books because while I could see them appealing to teens or adults who were fans of Goosebumps once upon a time, there is definitely something Barker-esque and Lovecraftian about them too. Besides, Darren Shan has a very healthy, scary, and bizarre imagination of his own so there’s plenty of original creepy things as well.  

I’m still not sure how much I dug the ending, but the series as a whole was really, really enjoyable. Not only did I love the main characters, but I loved the demons, particularly Lord Loss. There was also a backstory for one of the characters involving being raised by the Minotaur, and that alone was worth reading the series for.

What book(s) or series did you pick? Feel free to comment and link me to your post!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop, Book Recs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 10/14-10/17

  1. Rachel King says:

    Stopping by through the Hop – I picked Demon: A Memoir by Tosca Lee, which is plenty scary enough for me!

  2. Amie says:

    I haven’t read these books, but I will have to look into them! My hop: Mom Reads My Books

Leave a Reply

