Reader’s Progress #42:

Reader’s Progress is a monthly post where I look at my reading habits as well as the books I’ve read and reviewed.

January in Review:

Read: 35 books

Reviewed: 25 books

Reading Challenges:
2012: 35 out of 150 books according to GoodReads.
Horror/Thriller Reading Challenge: 18 out of 20 books. I suspect I will increase the level I was attempting in the near future.

Reading Habits:
Towards the beginning of January, I discovered that Bizarro Fiction is not as scary or purposelessly odd as I had previously imagined. So far, I’ve read and enjoyed:

I also have discovered the fun that is The Lying Game series by Sara Shepard and I suspect I’ll be moving right along to The Pretty Little Liars series as well. I just finished Never Have I Ever yesterday, and I recently reviewed The Lying Game (4 Stars). I still have -40 interest in either television show, but the books are quite good. I can’t wait for Two Lies and a Truth!

I dipped my feet into Horror, but haven’t really found a book that really works for me. Ghoul by Brian Keene (2 Stars) probably wasn’t the best place to start, but I’m hoping to start The Woman in Black by Susan Hill in time to go see the movie.

Similarly, Nordic Fiction hasn’t really worked for me either. The Leopard by Jo Nesbø (DNF) couldn’t hold my interest enough to keep me reading. Not even after 311 pages.

Other than that, I seem to be in the middle of a series of reading mood swings where what previously looked inviting and awesome to me now looks sort of like more of the same old thing in whatever genre it falls into. I have a few Fantasy titles to finish, but I suspect that I’ll be reading a lot of Gay Romance in February.

What was your Reader’s Progress in January?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reader’s Progress #42:

  1. I’ve got Ghoul to get to myself and bizarro I’ve become a touch crazy about :) it’s slightly addictive though the last one I read Traveling Dildo Salesman didn’t exactly rock my world, the three you mentioned all sound great I’m most interested in reading Jimmy Plush. I wish I was as speedy a reader as you are I’d get to all the review books I have waiting maybe then they’d stop giving me dirty looks.

Leave a Reply

