Gay Romance Reviews: Fortune Hunter, Rogues, and Jungle Heat

Lately I’ve actually been using my Nook. Which pretty much means I’m reading Gay Romance e-books because if I can get something in print, I opt for print. And the majority of Gay Romance e-books tend to remain in solely available in an electronic format. The two Brook Street books are fairly recent grabs from Netgalley, and Jungle Heat is one I bought ages ago. For summaries and info, click on the covers.

Fortune Hunter (Brook Street, #2) by Ava March  Fortune Hunter by Ava March (Brook Street #2) -  4 Stars. A lovely story in a lot of ways. I really cared about both men, particularly Oscar, and wanted them to be together. Their conflict was and yet wasn’t a misunderstanding, which I liked. Oscar approached their relationship with the hopes of it becoming a committed one as Julian obsessed over getting married in order to become rich while taking Oscar for granted. The reveal was really heart-breaking, but the conclusion showed up way too soon which I didn’t like at all.

Rogues (Brook Street, #3) by Ava March  Rogues by Ava March (Brook Street #3) - 3 Stars. I liked both Linus and Robert. They had a very friends with benefits thing going on, which clearly wasn’t going to work forever although neither one of them could quite admit it. I liked that as a starting point, and I also liked the ways their relationship developed/evolved. I just found myself wishing there was a bit more to their story. I liked their emotional conflicts, but some external conflicts would have been nice too. *

Jungle Heat by Bonnie Dee  Jungle Heat by Bonnie Dee – 4 Stars. A very sweet and hot story that is quite a bit like Tarzan. The ending seemed a tiny bit rushed, but I really liked the way time passed prior to that. Michael’s journey from Odd One to finding a love and home was definitely well-done. I loved his thoughts as well as the transition from speaking very few words to being able to form full sentences. James was also a great love interest, and I liked how his reluctance and uncertainty stemmed from caring too much rather than being unsure of his own orientation.

* Please Note: After reading it and going to GoodReads, I did notice Katie(bab)’s NSFW review. I decided it was worth linking to because if I’d paid more attention while reading about certain (ahem) intimate acts, I might have had a similar reaction.

Other Gay Romance Reviews:

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in E-book, Mini Review, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

