Book Reviews: Evil Dark, The Fault in Our Stars, and Tentacle Death Trip

Hello again. After taking about a month off, I think I’m ready to get back in the saddle again. So I figured I’d just make a post of what I’ve been reading lately.

Evil Dark (Occult Crimes Unit Investigation #2) by Justin Gustainis Evil Dark by Justin Gustainis – 4.5 Stars. An excellent follow-up to Hard Spell and a bit more fun. My only complaint would be the repetition of certain phrases, which got incredibly tedious. Thankfully everything else more than made up for the irritation. The plot and the characters — particularly Stan, his partner, and his daughter– were really great. I can’t wait for the next book in this series, and I wish more Urban Fantasy was written in a similar fashion.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – 3 Stars. Let me preface this by saying that I honestly thought I knew what I was getting into with this book and that I would end up loving it just as much as everyone else did. But things didn’t pan out.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved parts of it. I even sniffled on occasion, but over all?  I would have liked some kind of balance in terms of the character’s attitudes that might have made me feel more personally invested in what was going on around them and to them. I definitely wouldn’t have minded a little more kindness from either the teens or the author of the book they both loved. I got very sick of most of the characters being oh so clever and sardonic.

I also really hated the fact that the teens couldn’t just watch two movies based on graphic novels and enjoy them without the girl making the observation that said movies were meant for boys. I am so tired of this stupid assumption that girls can’t enjoy action films or comic books. I realize this isn’t a very important element to the book and that Hazel’s opinion had very little impact on the rest of the story. But that only makes me hate the fact that it had to be in the book at all that much more.

Tentacle Death Trip by Jordan Krall Tentacle Death Trip by Jordan Krall – 3 Stars.  As a fan of the Death Race films and Lovecraft, I was totally excited when I read about this book and bought it immediately. Most of it was great in terms of the concept, the world, or the characters. Sadly, the ending just didn’t work for me. I’m sure it’s my own fault for having certain expectations, but them’s the breaks.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Mini Review, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Reviews: Evil Dark, The Fault in Our Stars, and Tentacle Death Trip

  1. She’s back yay. I don’t get why girls can’t enjoy action movies either. In fact those are the ones I enjoy and the ones I don’t like are chick flicks.

    • April says:

      I am back. :) Thanks!

      It makes no sense to me. I enjoy those things now and I loved them as a teen. And I think it bugs me because I remember feeling awkward about it as a teen and I feel like it would be super cool if YA authors would avoid making their readers feel that way.

  2. Welcome back. Hope you had a wonderful and relaxing time off. And glad to see you returning. :)

    Glad to see you enjoyed Justin’s next book as well. This does sound like a wonderful series. Thank you for all the thoughts on these books.

    Do take care. :)

    • April says:

      I did. It was really helpful although I didn’t get as much reading done as I originally planned.

      I really love the series, and I’m sort of hoping there’s going to be more than 3 books. Time will tell. And thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

