Graphic Novel Reviews: Batman, Batwoman, and Wonder Woman

Batman: Detective Comics, Vol. 1: Faces of Death  Batman Detective Comics vol. 1: Faces of Death by Tony S. Daniel – 3.5 Stars. In this case, the cover really gives a strong indication of the creepy, unpleasant vibe of this graphic novel’s storylines. I sort of enjoyed the more horrific take on certain Batman villains, and I’m eager to see what happens in the next volume, but it is a definitely a bit on the disturbing side.
Batwoman, Vol. 1: Hydrology  Batwoman vol. 1: Hydrology by J.H. Williams III and Hayden Blackman, illustrated by Amy Reeder – 4.5 Stars – Visually, everything about this graphic novel was lovely, but like the first title, there’s plenty of unpleasantness to go around since the main plot revolves a La Llorona (aka Weeping Woman) and a lot of unresolved issues for Kate. But I loved watching Kate train her cousin and also strike up a relationship with a female cop, and I cannot wait to see what happens next.

Wonder Woman, Vol. 1: Blood  Wonder Woman vol. 1: Blood by Brian Azarello, illustrated by Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins) – 4.5 Stars. My favorite part of Diana and her storylines has always been her connection/conflicts with Greek Gods so this new beginning was really, really awesome. Although it was also a bit of a downer in terms of what happens to the Amazons, the look and concepts for each of the Gods was really strange and unique in many ways. I’d defintely suggest checking it out.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Graphic Novel, Mini Review, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Graphic Novel Reviews: Batman, Batwoman, and Wonder Woman

  1. wwayne says:

    I didn’t read much of Batwoman, but each time I picked it up I was impressed by its wonderful art. “Batwoman Elegy” is one of the most beautiful comics I have ever read, from an aesthetic point of view – and story wasn’t bad, of course, since it was written by Greg Rucka, a man I will always look up to because of his amazing stories on Gotham Central. Why DC has always put very talented artists on this series, in your opinion?

    • April says:

      I really enjoyed Gotham Central too and yeah.. anything but Rucka is generally quality stuff. And maybe that’s part of it. The more important the writer, the more likely he is to get paired up with a very good artist. Or maybe just a combination of things. I think with the prices of comics and graphic novels and the fact that DC is starting over with a lot of titles, it’s better to make both the art and story solid and enjoyable to keep readers as well as attract new ones.

      • wwayne says:

        “The more important the writer, the more likely he is to get paired up with a very good artist”: it’s not always like that. I bought a lot of Marvel works by Ennis and Milligan, and (almost) every time I read them I was impressed by the gap between the quality of the storyteller and the one of the hack he had worked with.
        Unfortunately, it seems that Milligan is not a wonderful writer anymore. When I read Stormwatch # 10, I couldn’t believe it was written by him. I hadn’t read a so boring comic in YEARS.
        I agree with all the other things you wrote. Thank you for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

