A Much-Delayed Return

Hello again and… Wow. It has been sort of a ridiculously long time since I attempted a blog entry!

I have to admit at the time –which was back in October of 2012– that I just felt a general sense of pointlessness with continuing. Back in October, I felt that all I had learned from blogging about books was that it was contest or a competition to see who could read the most and post about it the fastest. And it was one that I was constantly losing.

I couldn’t stop seeing everything as some sort of epic race with me in last place because I was somehow reading the wrong way. As a result, I also couldn’t really enjoy reading. I felt pressured*  to get books done promptly and without savoring what I was reading. I felt really irritated by my own reading preferences as opposed to embracing and following them as I was initially doing when this book blog started. And it was sort of a mess for me in a number of ways.

After a break that I ought to have given more warning about and for which I deeply apologize, I find that I want to go back to book blogging. I actually sort of miss it now. I want to go back to fumbling my way towards providing the same content I was before in terms reading and reviewing.

I don’t expect to post every day. I don’t think that served much of a point, and definitely contributed to my blog burn-out. I don’t expect I will do many memes although I might look into book challenges again at some point.

I do expect that the books I read will be a mix of old and new rather than forthcoming as I am back to trying to make a sizable dent in my To-Read Mountain. 

And I also expect to occasionally post about the video games I’ve been playing.**

So if you’re still around and interested, thanks for reading and checking back. If you’re here for the first time, expect more content and book reviews soon.

Image

—–

* By myself, obviously. No one was actually pressuring me outside of that little inner critic voice that hounds me from time to time.

** AKA the other reason I haven’t been blogging. So many of the games coming out now just have really, really good storylines but that is a post for another day.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Much-Delayed Return

  1. leejameswrites says:

    April,

    Great having you back! And as long as you’re writing reviews, I’ll be reading them–with a smile or a laugh.

    Best regards, Lee James

  2. Yea!!!! Welcome back. And hope you are all rested up. :) Looking forward to wonderful posts again. :)

Leave a Reply

