Harry Potter and the Too Many Books With the Same Cover Incident

I suspect there a point in every reader’s life where they wonder just how they ended up with so many copies of various Harry Potter titles. If you don’t have this problem, I envy you because after unpacking at my new place, I discovered I own about 4 copies of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s (/Philosopher’s) Stone. In my defense, one is from Ireland and one is in French so only two of them are identical.

Another problem I suspect every reader has is that often an awesome book comes out multiple times and oftentimes it gets a better cover the 5th time around. Or the 1st. If you do not have this problem, I also envy you. I own about 3 copies of The Hobbit (I was determined to own one that resembled the copy from my childhood) and random copies of The Chronicles of Narnia in addition to a matching set I bought when I visited Wales.

But if you have both of these problems, you will understand just how happy and angry I was to discover that the paperbacks are being re-released with lovely covers from Kazu Kibuishi (artist and author of the ever-so popular Amulet series).

Harry Potter Boxed SetHarry Potter Boxed Set I mean, ARGH! Look at how well they all match! And this isn’t even touching on how great the individual covers are.

For example, here is the cover of the book I currently own 4 copies of:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

What am I to do? I don’t need these books. Not even slightly, but I want them. I can’t even come up with a flimsy adult-shaped excuse either because if I want to re-read them, I own them. Or…actually I seem to be missing Book 5. But I own the rest and I work at a library, for crying out-loud.  And yet… And yet.

And yet if you do have either one of these problems, perhaps you can give me some advice. Should I go for a 5th copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone as well as its sequels or no?

And for those who need a 1st or 5th copy of their own, the box set comes out on August 27.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Announcement, Bookish Thoughts, Children's Book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harry Potter and the Too Many Books With the Same Cover Incident

  1. lizardwocw says:

    Hi April,

    I used to do this with paint brushes for my pottery, now I do this with blankets and bolsters for yoga, and ropes, and more. Every passionate person has a lunatic side, don’t we? Hugs, DL

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

