Unintentional Spotlight on Angry Robot

 I have to admit that lately my reading and audio books have been fairly close to disappointing. I decided to look at different blogs and now I have plenty of reading ideas that seem original and wonderful. I just have to wait for my library to order them. One of the perks of being a shameless book addict is where to go to get my fix, but the problem of being a shameless book addict is I need the fix NOW. Which is ridiculous.

You may think at this point that I should, you know, order the books for myself. Buy them or something. I could try that, but I wouldn’t get as far as the line for the cash register or the cart when I’m on Amazon. Because by then I feel absolutely ridiculous to even try to purchase ten books when I have about sixty books.

Libraries have been good to me, and I cannot repay that kindness by getting books elsewhere most of the time. And yet the need to read something awesome and not mainstream remains.

To ease the pain of my delayed gratitification, let’s take a look at what I’m so overly eager to get my grubby little paws on. Interestingly and amusing enough and through no fault of my own, all of the titles are from Angry Robot.

(This is even more amusing if you know me well enough to understand how much I care about robots. If not, don’t worry. You will.)

  Amortals by Matt Forbeck

Sigh. I can guess what you’re thinking. You’re thinking: Who is Matt Forbeck? Why do I care? Why is this man purple? Is he a plant or an alien or something? This is a shining example of why one must, at some point, ignore covers. This can be quite difficult, however, without reading a book’s contents and thanks to Tor.com, you can read the first chapter.

So no. He’s not a plant or an alien badly photoshopped onto a blurry shot of a city. He’s actually a secret agent badly photoshopped onto a blurry shot of a city brought back to life – via cloning and the transfering of memories from one body to another – to solve his own murder. I think this sounds pretty cool and maybe not the most original storyline but fun at least so color me intrigued.

Angry Robot suggests: “FILE UNDER: Science Fiction [Future Thriller / Cheat Death / Rogue Agents / Who Killed Who?]”

 Walking the Tree by Kaaron Warren

The book is set in a world called Botanica where people rely on a Tree for nearly everything relating to life as well as death since ghosts apparently come to take children and the dying from time to time.

Once a young person turns eighteen or becomes to become an adult, they are sent to walk the Tree for five years to learn about themselves and their world. But Lillah’s walk will be a bit different now that she’s been asked by a dying woman to take her son with her. The only problem is the boy is sick too and keeping him alive might mean going against her people and even her world.

Angry Robot suggests: “FILE UNDER: Fantasy [A Stunning World / An Epic Journey / A Terrifying Secret / Ghosts in the Tree]”

See? Don’t you want to read this right now? I am a bit concerned that Trudi Canavan has a review on its cover, but that’s only because one of her books made me quite cross once upon a time. (And I’m smart enough to understand that reason she’s on the cover endorsing this work is because she’s pretty big in terms of Australian Fantasy and Warren is Australian.)

 Zoo City by Lauren Beukes

I’m just going to let Amazon’s product description speak for itself for this, my friends, is the Stuff of Awesome. Zinzi has a Sloth on her back, a dirty online 419 scam habit – and a talent for finding lost things. But when her latest client, a little old lady, turns up dead and the cops confiscate her last paycheck, she’s forced to take on her least favourite kind of job: missing persons.

Angry Robot suggests: “FILE UNDER: Modern Fantasy [Black magic noir / Pale Crocodile / Spirit Guardians / Lost stars].” 

I don’t know about you, but I want to know more about all of these things that I’m supposed to file this book under. And I totally want to get to know a heroine who has a Sloth. 

Ah, Angry Robot, this could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship. I shall indeed do my part and join your Robot Army. Because honestly? I am perfectly comfortable with the notion of Robot Overlords that are going to tell me to file awesome books under equally awesome subjects.

If this was the Cylons’ Master Plan all along, I’m even more annoyed that they didn’t win.

On a more serious note, I am really dismayed that libraries do not have these already available to the general public, but mark my words: I will force at least a few libraries to own a bunch of Angry Robot books very soon.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Library Perks, Publisher Spotlight, Shiny New Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unintentional Spotlight on Angry Robot

  1. John Tintera says:

    Thanks so much for the awesome plug for Angry Robot! We have galleys of some of the titles you mentioned above–drop me a line with your address and we’ll get them out to you.

Leave a Reply

