Best Reads of 2010 – Adult Fiction

As promised and in no real order, here at my Top 10 Adult Books for 2010.

  I am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells – Absolutely brilliant, touching, dark, funny, and clever. The perfect book for nearly anyone and one that completely defies classification. It is for Teens, Adults, Mystery lovers, Horror fans, and just about anyone else.

Fifteen year old John Wayne Cleaver will appeal to fans of Dexter Morgan, but also to fans of Vladimir Todd in terms of voice and some of the issues John faces. John’s also similarly endearing. I greatly enjoyed this book’s sequel, Mr. Monster, and I’m looking forward to reading I Don’t Want to Kill You which comes in March 2011.

 Ramayana: Divine Loophole by Sanjay Patel – An absolutely amazing retelling of the Ramayana by one of the many talented artists working at Pixar.

 Blue-Eyed Devil by Robert B. Parker – Nothing broke my heart more than the death of Robert B. Parker in January of this year shortly after I discovered how remarkable his books were. To my delight he still has books coming out owing to his prolific capabilities, and he was truly gifted and absolutely a master when it comes to meaningful brief descriptions and dialogue.

Blue-Eyed Devil and Split Image were both fantastic and Painted Ladies was fun. But I love Parker’s Westerns better than I do the other two series for Stone or Spenser because Hitch and Cole are such distinctive voices and they are also amusing, brave, and share a wonderful friendship.

 Nuclear Jellyfish by Tim Dorsey – I read every Serge A. Storms book this year and loved every single one, but none of them made me laugh as hard as this book did. If you don’t find Floridian serial killers suffering from ADHD and schizophrenia who are obsessed with the history of said state to be particularly entertaining, you will after reading this book.

 Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane – The movie was surprisingly good, but nothing could come close to the masterpiece that is this book. Even when I thought I know where Lehane was going, and once I did all I could do was hope I was as wrong as Teddy ended up being. The newest book in his Kenzie & Gennaro series, Moonlight Mile, that actually came out this year was also excellent.

 Dexter is Delicious by Jeff Lindsay – Amazingly hilarious and dark. I skipped some of the books and it’s been ages since I read the first two, but I loved this look at Dexter and his many domestic and psychopathic problems. And the return of a certain minor character who will remain nameless so you don’t hate me forever certainly added a wonderful dimension to this story.

 Skin Tight by Carl Hiaasen – My first Carl Hiaasen book. It was amazingly good with a cast of incredibly hilarious and occasionally awful characters. I couldn’t put it down, but I was really sad to finish it.

While I haven’t been able to get around to reading Skinny Dip for Mick Stranahan, I was happy to see Chemo (Blondell Wayne Tatum) wind up in Star Island. I also have a large pile of more Hiaasen books to get to in 2011.

 The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larsson – I loved The Girl With the Dragon Tatto, but the sequel just had so much going on action-wise and the writing had so much more energy and sizzle. Lisbeth remains awesome and strange while Mikael remains inept but likable. I still need to read the last book in the Millennium Trilogy. I’m hoping to get it for Christmas.

 Jeeves in the Morning by P. G. Wodehouse – I’d already read this book several times in the past, but there is never a time when I don’t enjoy reading about Bertie Wooster and his valet Jeeves. The audio book as performed by Frederick Davidson was absolutely delightful and hilarious.  I highly recommend this to anyone who does a lot of tedious driving.

  The Ice Princess by Camilla Lackberg – Although the series this is in is apparently about Patrik Hedstrom, this book focuses more on his girlfriend. Erica Falk, a Swedish novelist/biographer, has returned to her childhood home only to learn that her childhood best friend, a strange girl named Alex Wijkner, has been killed under relatively mysterious circumstances. But looking into the dysfunctional, unpleasant secrets of Fjallbacka brings up a lot more questions than it answers.

Possessing both a haunting story and a chilling climate, this book made for a great summer read. I still have yet to read the other books in the series, but they are in my To Read pile.

Sadly no Fantasy, Science Fiction, or Romance made the cut and several of these books feature serial killers. That’s probably not good.

This is, however, a fairly even mix of library books and books I own unlike the other two posts which were actually all library books.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Best Reads of 2010 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

