Review: The Delta Anomaly (Star Trek: Starfleet Academy) by Rick Barga

Click on the cover to see more reviews!

How did I get it: The Library.

Why did I get it: I’ve been looking forward to these Star Trek: Starfleet Academy books for awhile.

How would I rate it: 4 out of 5 stars.

My Summary: A serial killer known as The Doctor has returned to San Francisco and, on foggy nights, is targeting cadets at Starfleet Academy. Kirk, Spock, McCoy, and Uhura have to work together and separately to deal with this unknown menace before it can strike again.

My Review: I felt this was a surprisingly good story overall. Every aspect of this was solid and its look into familiar characters was somewhat insightful. This is bound to be a hit with fans of the new movie.

I’m not sure I’m completely sold on this working well for teens since I couldn’t ever get a sense of how old the characters were and nothing in this seemed to be about teen-specific issues, but I like how everything came together. And I think there is something to be said for books about people in their 20s and in what amounts to a sci fi college being geared towards teens. Teens don’t always have to read about the 13-17 crowd.

I did find it weird though that no one ever noted the similarities between the alien killer and Jack the Ripper., but the strange alien they faced off against was really interesting anyway. I liked how Uhura, McCoy and Kirk had to find a way to figure out parts of the puzzle on their own and then slowly it all wove together. The book really highlighted all of the talents that each of them possess (xenolinguistics, medicine and science, and beating people up).

Although a bit on the short side, Delta Anomaly definitely felt like a complete novel. It was well written and fast-paced. There were some hilarious exchanges of dialogue too. My personal favorite involved Kirk complaining about the high tech dust buster he’s given to deal with the Doctor.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Library Book, Review, Teen Book and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

