Series to Start in 2011

There’s a lot of books I keep meaning to read, and I’m hoping 2011 will at least get me started on some of these.

Dystopian:
Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness
Gone series by Michael Grant
The Ember Series by Jeanne Duprau
The Moon Crash Trilogy/Last Survivors by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Epic Fantasy:
Chronicles of the Necromancer by Gail Z. Martin
First Law series by Joe Abercrombie
Fisherman’s Children by Karen Miller
Griffin Mage Trilogy by Rachel Neumeier
Inheritance Trilogy by N. K. Jemisin
Moorehawke Trilogy by Caitlin Kiernan
Necromancer Chronicles by Amanda Downum
Shadow of the Apt series by Adrian Tchaikovsky
The Edda of Burdens series by Elizabeth Bear
The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rachel Aaron
The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan
Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner

Mystery:
A Bad Day series by Sophie Littlefield
Peculiar Crimes Unit mysteries by Christopher Fowler
Spenser series by Robert B. Parker

Science Fiction:
Culture series by Ian M. Banks
Dune series by Frank Herbert
Honor Harrington series by Dave Weber
Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold

Urban Fantasy:
Guild Hunters by Nalini Singh
Matthew Swift series by Kate Griffin
October Daye series by Seanan McGuire

Will I succeed in reading all of these books? I have a feeling I am more likely to go blind or insane long before that ever happens since I also have a lot of series to finish in 2011 like the Dresden Files, the Hunger Games, and the Millenium Trilogy. But I would like to at least start some of these series to see if I’d like them enough to read all the books in them.

If nothing else it’s worth making a list just in case I ever come close to running out of books to read.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Reads That Got Away, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

