Review: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

How did I get it: The library.

Why did I get it: I’ve been meaning to this series for a long time. While I did like Nathaniel Parker’s narration when I gave the audio book a try, it’s much quicker for me to read them on my own.

How would I rate it: 5 out of 5 stars.

My Summary: Artemis Fowl is many things but fundamentally he is a troubled twelve year old genius who might someday grow up to be a pretty scary Bond villain type. In an effort to locate his lost father and salvage his mother’s sanity, he begins learning about fairies and plotting to kidnap one in order to earn fairy gold, which is only step one in his plan to get his father. Attempting to thwart his ambition are the LEPrecon, a fairy tactical team, working to ensure that fairy secrets remain just that. 

My Review: Being a fan of anti-heroes and villains, I appreciated Artemis Fowl being a mostly evil, stoic and strange boy who will grow up to be quite a force to reckon with. I really liked following him around because the actions he takes and the plans he concocts are rarely the focal point of a novel. More often than not, dastardly or dangerous plans are done behind the scenes in action adventures since would-be villains are rarely the stars of a book let alone a series.

All of the characters, with the possible exception of Juliet who just didn’t add much to the story for me, were pretty awesome. Artemis remains fascinatingly complex with his ability to act like an adult while still having the needs that a pre-teen would have such as to gain love, acceptance or at the very least everyone’s attention. Captain Holly Short, Commander Root, Foaly (the centaur computer whiz) and the other fairies were a very nice addition especially since they took themselves very seriously as fairy cops. I have to admit I prefer Butler and Artemis though. The notion that Butlers have always served under a Fowl is really neat, and I think Artemis’ proto-friendship with Butler, his bodyguard, will be really interesting to see develop into a full-fleged working relationship.  

I really like the world Colfer’s created and I’m eager to learn more about it. There’s a lot of grey area at work. No one is completely good and no one is completely bad, including Artemis. Colfer’s writing was solid, humourous and engaging from start to finish. His style is a lot like Horowitz and Fleming with some fairy magic sprinked on top, which I think works both for reluctant readers and people looking for something different to read.

I was also delighted to finally find a book is that was not about sparkly attractive and horny fairy people looking for mortals to wind up with, but more like humans in that they have range and they are more normal than they are exciting.  I don’t know about you, but I get a little tired of every book geared towards teens or even adults being about hot glittery otherworldly beings looking for soul mates.

I wish I had more to say, but I just am too pleased with Artemis Fowl to try to think of something to complain about. This was exactly what I wanted to read and I cannot wait to pick up Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

  1. Pingback: Best Reads of 2011 – Teen Books | CSI: Librarian

  2. Pingback: Artemis Fowl crossover with the Jaspotelli Kids Chapter 12: I’m Gonna Make You an Offer You Can’t Refuse « FanFiction Fridays

  3. Pingback: Artemis Fowl crossover with the Jaspotelli Kids Chapter 10: Fairyland « FanFiction Fridays

  4. Pingback: Artemis Fowl crossover with the Jaspotelli Kids Chapter 9: Trust No One « FanFiction Fridays

  5. Pingback: Artemis Fowl crossover with the Jaspotelli Kids Chapter 11: Danger in Haven « FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

