Thoughts on Fictional Librarians

From now on whenever I have a particularly heinous day, I will read this awesome Jedi Librarian blog post (found via bookshelves of doom), and thank my lucky stars that I am not likely to meet as bad an end as Jocasta Nu. Besides, none of my patrons are likely to be as annoying as Anakin Skywalker, am I right?

That said I feel inclined to point out that not all fictional librarians are awful. It’s just that fictional librarians are as diverse, unusual and/or grumpy as real librarians even though real librarians have less fun or, at the very least, fight less crime.

 Barbara Gordon still found time to be a Batgirl while not neglecting her responsibilities at the Gotham City Public Library and getting a PhD in Library Science which she still puts to good use even now that she’s known as Oracle and very tech saavy.

  The Librarian for the Unseen University of Ank-Morpork is pretty awesome too seeing as he opted to remain an orag-utan because it made his job easier. Granted, the Librarian doesn’t really like being called a “monkey” so that might present a problem for foolish patrons or wizards*, and the Librarian enforces somewhat stricter rules than most those rules being:

  1. Silence
  2. Books must be returned no later than the date shown
  3. Do not meddle with the nature of causality.

This is acceptable, however, given that a) he works at an academic library so that’s only to be expected and b) the only one he really gets hung up on is Rule 2. Most librarians are guilty of obsessing over Rule 2.

Alas though, my job remains nowhere near as exciting as that of Dr. Henry Armitage, the Chief Librarian at Miskatonic University in Arkham who not only works in a library housing one of the rare first editions of the Necronomicon but who also helped destroy the Dunwich Horror.

Ah well. I’m young. There’s still plenty of time for me to defeat an Elder God with my book smarts.



* And there’s plenty of those in Discworld.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Library Perks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Fictional Librarians

  1. Noel R. says:

    I love this post. 😀 And it’s good to know that, should the need to fight crime or gods come about, you’ve at least got great role models to draw from.

Leave a Reply

