Reader’s Progress #2

Abandoned:
Note: Unfortunately it’s been a really good week for book abandoning so in that regards, I’m only listing actual books I’ve stopped reading and not the myriad of audio books I’ve given up on.

Matched by Ally Condie –
I couldn’t get into this at all and after seeing a lot of reviews, I decided to give up. Not only is the writing only so-so, but it’s another teen book with a useless love triangle set in a dystopian future. I excepted a lot and I think the book actually suffers from having its cover is plastered all over the place.

Vixen by Jillian Larkin –
This book I actually feel bad about, but the problem is I read Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen first and loved it. The writing in Vixen wasn’t bad by any means, but I just think I need to come back to it at some point when I can’t mentally compare it to Bright Young Things and find it lacking.

X’ed Out by Charles Burns –
I got half-way through and then… I just didn’t care. The word that sums how I felt reading any of this graphic novel is “ugh.” Just ugh. This book is not my cup of tea at all. I’ll just stick to superheroes if this is the alternative, thanks.

Currently Reading:
Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer
Iron Duke by Meljean Brook
Yarn by Jon Armstrong
Zoo City by Lauren Beukes

Finished:
Daredevil: Battlin’ Jack Murdock by Zeb Wells – My review for this miniseries will be posted on Monday.
Punisher: Dark Reign by Rick Remender – Nothing to write home about, but I liked it a lot. Very fun and violent.
Silver Diamond volume 6 by Shiho Sugiura
Silver Diamond volume 7 by Shiho Sugiura

Reviewed:
Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
Dust City by Robert Paul Weston
Grant Morrison’s 18 Days

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

