RT Book Reviews – February 2011 Picks

I don’t know about you, but I love reading magazines that review books. Some I prefer more than others, and one of my favorites is RT Book Reviews AKA Romantic Times Book Reviews, which is slightly ironic seeing as it’s very hard for me to get through most romance novels.

What I like about this monthly title is that it encompasses a lot of genres and reviews an actually remarkable scope of books, and while the main focus is romance, there’s usually books reviewed that have little to no romance in them outside of perhaps a subplot here and there.

RT Book Reviews also celebrates authors and readers is a very welcoming, cozy way. As a book lover and would be writer, I find it be appealing and satisfying to read articles like February 2011’s “I Did It My Way” about how Colleen Houck made her self-published book into a forthcoming trilogy via Amazon and excited fans.

So let’s take a brief trek into the future and take a look at some of the great items that February will have to offer according to RT Book Reviews and, naturally, my personal preferences.

Mystery, Suspense, & Thriller:

Lucky Stiff is the sequel to Wanna Get Lucky? by Deborah Coonts which I’m currently listening to as an audio book. The other two got great reviews and look entertaining.

Paranormal Romance:

I only want to read Bonded by Blood because the guy on the cover looks vaguely Karl Urban-esque. I Dream of Genies just sounds hilarious, but also will probably make for a pleasant change from vampires, I think. Reading Awakened will happen only if I can manage to finish the rest of House of Night by then.

Science Fiction/Fantasy:

I need to read Gail Z. Martin’s Chronicles of the Necromancer series either before or after Sworn. I also need to finish the first two Edda of Burden books before I get The Sea Thy Mistress.

Teen Scene:

Thankfully these YA titles hardly look romantic at all, but they do look pretty awesome.

Urban Fantasy:

I just love the cover. I just need to make time to read the first two Guild Hunter books at some point before the third book comes out.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

