Thoughts on HBO’s A Game of Thrones

I tend to watch very little television, but I really can’t wait to see the miniseries for George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones, the first book in A Song of Ice and Fire.

The trailers have been all over the place lately. They’re fun to watch but what I’ve really enjoy is the Inside A Games of Thrones featurette because it gave me an even greater appreciation for the hard work being put into this and the brilliant casting job.

Many years ago now, I first read George R. R. Martin’s books at the behest and prodding of several friends. I am so glad I did because I have yet to read a fantasy world so well-constructed, so messed-up or so chock full of anti-heroes. In fact, the only disappointment involved in reading them was realizing just how horrible it is when a series in progress remains that way because no one  seems to know when A Dance With Dragons will ever come out. Every once in awhile a book vendor or website will have something about it coming out, but that never actually happens.

An unfortunate side-effect of this waiting process is that as time passes I become more and more reluctant to really get invested in epic fantasy series that are unlikely to end anytime soon. I get too worried I’ll end up pining for Fictional Land X the same way I pine for Westeros and I’m not sure I can handle pining in this way for any other place.

Still, the obnoxious frustrating wait isn’t something I would ever hold against the show though. In fact I’m pretty thankful that it is coming out because I cannot wait to re-visit Westeros without having to re-read all of the books again.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on HBO’s A Game of Thrones

  1. Redhead says:

    so, who will finish the series first? Martin or HBO? I’m not a big tv-watcher either, but i’m planning to put out some big bucks for HBO JUST for this series!

Leave a Reply

