Show Me The FictFact

I love, love, love Reader’s Advisory. Give me a kid looking for superhero books, and I’m thrilled as well as more than happy to go over said hero’s Rogue Gallery. Point me to someone who needs just finished the Millenium Trilogy and needs more Swedes, and I’m super pleased.

There is nothing more rewarding than sharing book love and helping people find awesome books on whatever subject they like. This is why I also adore love databases and review sites like NoveList, LibraryThing, GoodReads, and Shelfari where people can keep track of their books, search for similar books or try to get suggestions elsewhere.

So imagine my delight in discovering FictFact, a site specifically designed to allow people to keep track of the series they’ve read, see what book they ought to read next if they’re not entirely caught up, and to recieve alerts when new books are about to come out.

I still love GoodReads and would never stop using it, but I like the idea of having a separate account just for series organization. It’s really going to make my life easier and hopefully help me with my Reading Challenges for 2011, but it’s going to be awhile before I have all the series I’m into listed. Ah well. That’s half the fun, right?

The only annoying aspect for me is the Your Next Book section which just suggests books before or after the one you list as having read. I think this feature will work well generally speaking, but sometimes a series doesn’t need to be read in order to be enjoyed and sometimes a person won’t want to go back to the start so much as continue moving forwards. In the case of a lot of the urban fantasy I read, I don’t always feel like picking up an anthology for one novella or story relating to a series’ fictional world. And I don’t always count those as #1 of a series, but FictFact does.

Anyway, it’s still a lot of fun. As an additional incentive, if you sign up before the end of the month, you’ll get entered to win a $50 Amazon gift card.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bloggiesta 2011, Bookish Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

