Brian Jacques

Ugh, this just breaks my heart into a million of little pieces.

I haven’t read a book by Brian Jacques in years, but I’ve never forgotten about them. I still remember going into a small used bookstore in Michigan when I was about 12 and finding Redwall. I picked it up and couldn’t put it down. I had a hard time even handing it over so my father could pay for it. I have many memories involving Jacques’ books, but none are more important than being terrified of Cluny the Scourge as a villain and so in love with Matthias as a main character.

Once I finished, I had to get all his books and was always overjoyed when another one came out. Nothing was better than discovering a writer who wrote and aided in fostering my already epic love of anything having to do with rodents or badgers. I couldn’t get enough of his imaginative series where animals were warriors, good overcame all odds, and bravery was always rewarded. I couldn’t get enough of the otters, squirrels, hedgehogs, badgers, wildcats, mice, rats, moles, and ferrets.

My first book signing was Brian Jacques reciting the entire first chapter of Redwall from memory, speaking like a mole for a few minutes, and signing my stack of books. He was such a magical person and even thinking about him being gone makes me tear up.

R.I.P. Brian Jacques. Thank you for being awesome, prolific, and one of my first as well as favorite writers ever. I think I’ll be re-visiting Redwall and most of its sequels again soon.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brian Jacques

  1. David says:

    I am incredibly envious of your experience meeting Brian Jacques. I was giddy just to discover that they’d turned Redwall into a brief animated miniseries that included interviews with him afterwards. But his passing was very sad indeed. Like you I hadn’t read one of his books in years, but they were an integral part of my childhood.

    • It was a great experience and so were his books. I have to admit I don’t know if I’ll ever have much time to get around to most of the Redwall series again, but they really have stayed with me and are probably responsible for my love of small woodland animals. It’s sort of funny and really awesome that some titles or series just become such a vital aspect of a period of a reader’s life.

Leave a Reply

