My Book Boyfriend #1


My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by The Unread Reader and it is where readers can swoon over boys in books! Since I do this on a regular basis anyway on my own, I figured I’d join in on the fun. To learn more about the details or to participate, visit the introduction post.

Today’s My Book Boyfriend is Eli Monpress.

I am a very character-driven reader. Any character with very engaging and/or strong personality tends to go a long way with me. As a result I am often enamoured with fictional con men and it would be hard not to really be into Eli as he is very unique in his own way but has a lot of the traits I have also enjoyed in regards to various other con men in movies and books.

Basically if you put Moist Von Lipwig, Rusty Ryan, and Daniel Ocean in a blender along with some magic, a little more quirkiness, and an extra helping of mischieviousness, you’d have Eli Monpress. And you can find him in The Legend of Eli Monpress series by Rachel Aaron and from Orbit Books, which I’m currently in the process of devouring.

A Decent Likeness of My Book Boyfriend:

I think the cover of The Spirit Thief looks all right for Eli but not exactly. I guess if I pictured Eli looking like any one person or actor it would be Paul Blackthorne. He’s not exactly perfect, of course, but I think he has the right look and level of scruffiness.

My Book Boyfriend Stats:

  • Con Man
  • Talks to the spirits in natural and even inanimate objects
  • Cocky and somewhat arrogant with a great sense of humor
  • Loyal to his crew, the rest is negotiable
  • Main goal in life: Being worth an insane amount of money
  • Travels with a swordsman and a demonseed

A scene with My Book Boyfriend that led to Massive Crushing:

“But . . .” The door shuddered uncertainly.
“The first step is admitting you have a problem.” Eli gave the wood a reassuring pat. “And that’s enough for now. However”—his voice dropped to a whisper—“if you’re ever going to live your life, really live it, then you need to let go of the roles others have forced on you. You need to let go of those nails.”
“But, I don’t know . . .” The door shifted back and forth.
“Indecision is the bane of all hardwoods.” Eli shook his head. “Come on, it doesn’t have to be forever. Just give it a try.”
The door clanged softly against its frame, gathering its resolve as Eli made encouraging gestures. Then, with a loud bang, the nails popped like corks, and the boards clattered to the ground with a long, relieved sigh.
Eli stepped over the planks and through the now empty iron door frame. The narrow hall outside was dark and empty. Eli looked one way, then the other, and shook his head.
“First rule of dungeons,” he said with a wry grin, “don’t pin all your hopes on a gullible door.”

Hm? Oh. Why yes that is from chapter one of The Spirit Thief. Eli quite literally had me at hello.

So there you have it. I could babble on or rehash the same points for a bit longer, but I’d rather go back to read The Spirit Rebellion by Rachel Aaron instead. There’s no sense making someone My Book Boyfriend if I’m just going to ignore him.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in My Book Boyfriend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Book Boyfriend #1

  1. Missie says:

    hehehe

    I like the idea of putting boys in a blender!

    If Eli had you massively crushing from the first chapter, I think it is about time I introduce myself to him. LOL

  2. Nice pick. I love guys that are ‘Cocky and somewhat arrogant with a great sense of humor’. Will have to check out this book 🙂

  3. Pingback: Book Blogger Hop: 2/11-2/14 | CSI: Librarian

  4. Carey Robin says:

    I want a Book Boyfriend. This is so hilarious, especially when you posted the picture! I’ve got to think of who my Book Boyfriend would be. This is so much more satisfying that “real” men I meet who . . . um . . . yeah.

Leave a Reply

