RT Book Reviews – March 2011 Picks

I’m taking a day off from reviews since I’m pretty sure I’ve posted more than enough this week already. As luck would have it, once again there’s a new issue of RT Book Reviews here at the library. 

I’m looking at it for teen selections, but as every librarian knows one of the best perks to doing collection development is also finding copious amounts of books for one’s self. The con to all of this is I really, truly do not need any more books in my life, but ah well. The more the merrier, right? Right. So let’s get down to it.

Historical Romance
Devil's Own (Clan MacAlpin #2) by Veronica Wolff   Captured by the Highlander by Julianne MacLean   Madame Tussaud: A Novel of the French Revolution by Michelle Moran

I know, I know. The Highlander covers are kind of ridiculous, but they both got good reviews.

Mystery, Suspense, & Thriller
The King of Diamonds by Simon Tolkien

I will admit that a little bit of my interest in The King of Diamonds results from its author being J. R. R. Tolkien’s grandson, but the book does sound genuinely intriguing.

Paranormal Romance
Dreams of a Dark Warrior (Immortals After Dark #11) by Kresley Cole   The Bloodgate Guardian by Joely Sue Burkhart

Kresley Cole’s books are addictive. And while it only got 3 stars for RT, I really want to read a Mayan paranormal romance.

Teen Scene
Human.4 by Mike A. Lancaster   Strings Attached by Judy Blundell

There are plenty of other great-looking books coming out in terms of YA, but I’m trying not to think about the series I need to catch up on.  

Urban Fantasy
Late Eclipses (October Daye #4) by Seanan McGuire  Aftertime by Sophie Littlefield

Again, plenty of other great books coming out but I’m definitely behind on a number of series. As far as Late Eclipses goes, hopefully I can get caught up on the October Daye books at some point soon.

And one of the books from the ads looks really interesting too:

The Strange Fate of Capricious Jones (Iron Angel) by Robert Roman

What March releases are you looking forward to?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

