My Book Boyfriend #2

My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by The Unread Reader where readers can swoon over boys in books every Wednesday!

Today’s My Book Boyfriend is Everett Hitch.

I absolutely love anything Robert B. Parker wrote, and it really is remarkable to me that books are still coming out for all of his series even though he’s been gone for awhile. Which is tragic. But I will be forever thankful to him for writing — among other things–  the absolutely brilliant Westerns that make up the Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch series.

A Decent Likeness of Said Book Boyfriend:

I’m going to “cheat” and just use Viggo Mortensen. In my defense, the movie version Appaloosa was very good. Not as good as the book, of course, but very good. I don’t know that I can even picture Everett as someone else, but then… it’s Viggo. Why would I want to picture someone else?

Everett Hitch

My Book Boyfriend Stats:

  • West Point Graduate
  • Gun-for-Hire
  • Travels with and often works for Virgil
  • Wordsmith/Pronunciation Guide for Virgil
  • Loyal to a fault

What Led to Massive Crushing:

The series and the character had me at cowboy. But I really like that Everett is so smart, so observant, so capable, and so incredibly lethal. Because of that and because I have grown to love him over the length of the series, there isn’t any one scene that resulted in mad crushing. I think my love stems from the overall effect of Everett’s wonderful first-person narration from book to book as well as his friendship/partnership with Virgil Cole that somehow withstands anything that gets thrown at them including seemingly endless and epic relationship fail on Cole’s part.

Basically, I love friendship and guys who are good friends in addition to whatever else they are will always be crush-worthy candidates. I also think it is absolutely awesome that there’s a series about two cowboys where their friendship is just about the only functional thing in their lives.

That’s all for this week. So who’s your Book Boyfriend? Or Book Girlfriend as the case may be?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, My Book Boyfriend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Book Boyfriend #2

  1. Missie says:

    How tragic is it that I haven’t read these books or heard of the author or seen the movie? That is fail of epic proportions! If a good cowboy is hard to find, then that should be more the reason to give these books a try.

    And I have to agree, why imagine someone else as Everett, when Viggo fits the role so perfectly. *le swoon*

    Thanks for participating and bring these books to light for me.

    • Aww that is so very tragic! But I felt the same way when I first found this series. It doesn’t seem to get as much attention as Parker’s mysteries.

      Totally. Viggo makes for a good cowboy and it’s really hard to even think of someone else.

      No problem! I love the meme. 🙂

  2. allstarme says:

    I love me a big strong cowboy. Nice choice.

  3. Amy S says:

    Thanks for putting this one on my radar! Adding this author to my wishlist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

