My Book Boyfriend #3

My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by The Unread Reader where readers can swoon over boys in books every Wednesday!

Today’s My Book Boyfriend is Bond. James Bond.

DAH NAH NAH NAAAHHH… That’s right. I love Ian Fleming’s James Bond to the point where I can hardly stand to watch any of the films.

Are the books dated? Oh yes. But I don’t see them as offensive so much as products of their times and I really think Fleming did a better job than the movies in that respect as well as several others. Are they strange and incredibly entertaining? Heck yeah.

A Decent Likeness of Said Book Boyfriend:

Clive Owen

I absolutely love Daniel Craig as James Bond because he has the right attitude and approach to the role in virtually every way, and I was thrilled to see him get the part because he deserves more recognition as a superb actor. But Clive Owen definitely looks more like Bond in terms of the physical descriptions given in the books.

My Book Boyfriend Stats:

  • 6′ tall
  • Blue-gray eyes
  • Black Hair
  • Thin vertical scar on his right cheek
  • British
  • MI6 agent/spy
  • Ladies’ Man
  • Enjoys Gambling
  • Family Motto: Orbis non sufficit.
  • Original Weapon of Choice: Beretta .25

What Led to Massive Crushing:

Bond is really a deep thinker in the book and really is very task-oriented. He’s not campy and he is not corny at all, which is my biggest problem with the movies. He takes himself very seriously and is very confident in his abilities as well as his appearance, both of which he works hard to maintain. He’s good with women and good at assessing their needs, which is definitely a perk when it comes to a boyfriend, but he’s also very dedicated to his job and loves what he does. And I really like that about him.

Bond definitely has his own passions, his own bizarre quirks or rituals, and certainly his prized possessions that he is rather overly attached to, which I loved reading about in his books because he really is more of a boy with his overly expensive toys than a spy who uses crazy lame gadgets. Especially in regards to his gun. You’d think M was asking Bond to turn over his firstborn child when he has to exchange his Beretta for a Walther PPK. And then he even tries to sneak his old gun out of the office so he can keep it, which is just about the cutest scene ever.

That’s all for this week. Who’s your Book Boyfriend?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in My Book Boyfriend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Book Boyfriend #3

  1. Missie says:

    I’ve always wanted to be a Bond Girl! Like seriously.

    And if Clive was Bond, well then that makes the wanting even greater. 😉

    I’ve never read the books, and didn’t even think to realize that the movie persona might be portrayed a bit differently. Book Bond does sound yummy.

    • Aww. That’s awesome.

      He would have made a great Bond, that’s for sure.

      I sort of wish I’d read the books after seeing the movies instead of the other way round. I mean, most the movies are fun but he’s way sillier/campier in the movies and totally fails at getting things done.

  2. Oh, great pick this week! 🙂 I have to say I always enjoyed Sean Connory as James bond. I think it might have been his accent too. 🙂

  3. Nic @ Irresistible Reads says:

    I love Clive Owens. He would make the perfect James Bond 🙂

  4. Sasha Switz says:

    Cool pick! I wouldn’t think to pick Bond. I haven’t read the books yet, but I have seen the movies, and I agree, Daniel Craig is a superb actor. It’s very interesting to hear your take on Bond. It makes me really want to read the books.

    • They’re definitely worth checking out and way different than I expected them to be. I think my favorite two books from that series would have to be Diamonds Are Forever and On Her Majesty’s Secret Service. They’re both awesome and nothing like the movies.

Leave a Reply

