Book Themes and Trends I Would Love More Of

I figured I also ought to also post about the things I want to see more of since that will probably explain why I’m tired of certain book trends and themes much better than anything else could.

Getting Things Done: More heroes or main characters who actually intend to save the world before getting laid, please! There is nothing worse than life as you know it being as stake and then reading about characters.

Single Female Warrior: I like strong women and sometimes it is cool for them to not be actively dating the creatures they ought to be killing.

I’m A Fallen Angel Were-Shark From Outer Space: Some original monsters or variations on themes would be super cool right about now. Or a god from some random pantheon. And I would definitely rather read about a were-rat or even a were-shark than yet another vampire.

All In The Supernatural Family: I would love for more books to focus less on romantic teenage entanglements and more on the hazards of raising vampires or werewolves. I think this would be way more entertaining and endearing.

Sisters Or Brothers In Arms: More friendship in fiction please!

Group Dynamics: I wouldn’t mind for more characters to be on teams or in groups. For example, wouldn’t zombie hunting be more fun with friends?

Love Connection: I don’t want to be told characters are in love.  I want them to have actual conversations like they’re both people and to fall in love.  I want to be devastated when they’re apart and rejoice when they are back together.

Three Is Company Too: For crying outloud, if you’re going to write about a threesome, PLEASE have everyone like everyone else involved. If two out of three people do not get along or want to be with each other, that ain’t good. And really it’s not cool or kinky for the two men involved to not even want to accidentally shake hands with one another. It’s actually just lame.

I Do It All Because I’m Evil: Supernatural creatures can be sexy, but they don’t have to be. In fact I would love for them to not be so sexy and this includes fairies, demons, and vampires. Couldn’t like a handful of them just be evil?  And I don’t mean evil because they’re so hot and sexy that it’s a crime. I mean just evil. No justifications, no caring about hurt feelings, just pure unadultured evil.

Super-heroes: I would just love for more superhero fiction to be in existence.

What book trends or themes would you like to see more of?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Themes and Trends I Would Love More Of

  1. Noel R. says:

    I LOVE the idea of a story about raising a vampire or were-child. That would be fun. =D

  2. Hey Lady! says:

    The “LoveConnection” thing is a HUGE problem in YA fiction. The Vampire Diaries come to mind (sorry, if you’re a fan). The “love” is established in a matter of 2 pages and then they’re in love FOREVER! And it’s super real and super strong, because that’s ust how it is when you meet your “soul mate” (yeah, right).

    The “single strong women” would be nice too. Let me know if you find one of those.

    And the world can not have too many superheroes. More characters like “Clark Kent” would be nice…

Leave a Reply

