Book Blogger Hop: 3/4-3/7

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “Who’s your all-time favorite book villain?”

Wow, this is a tough one because I love villains. For me, trying to pick only one is a painful process and honestly should probably involve the characters taking on another on in duels like those from Highlander

Anyway, I tried and I tried to avoid picking this character. I really did, but I couldn’t because there’s no way around stating a very true fact which is that Jaime Lannister from George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire is absolutely my all-time favorite or at least in my top five.

Years ago, if anyone told me that a guy who killed a kid, slept with his sister, and did all sorts of other things that are absolutely unforgivable would ever become so endearing and awesome that I would eventually even feel sorry for him… I probably would have puked. But it’s so much more complicated than that. In fact, everything in Westeros is very complicated.

So complicated that I don’t even know if Jaime is technically a villain any more so much as a messed-up guy who is definitely a small fry and one toy short of a happy meal, but he definitely was a real villain for awhile and he is definitely still bad news. If that wasn’t enough, Jaime has a fantastic backstory, he is hilariously awful, and he really grows so much that it is amazing. I just loved learning about him, seeing him deal with various losses on and off battlefields, and even trying to figure out who he is if he can’t be good at the one thing he was good at.

So what’s the problem? The problem is that even thinking about Jaime or the series he hails from breaks my heart lately, and this week has given me more incentives to do so instead of less. 

Not only is A Game of Thrones coming to HBO, but there’s also been George R. R. Martin’s announcement that his still yet to be completed A Dance With Dragons, the next book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series, is coming out for real this time. Maybe I’m alone in this, but I think I used up all my joyful optimism the first four or five times various false alarms occured over the years. I don’t honestly believe that my rage-filled misery is all Martin’s fault because I know he’s been working on this book for ages now, but I honestly feel defeated by the wait and a bit like my soul was crushed in the process.

As a result, I’m not sure how to be hopeful about this next book when I don’t know if another one will actually ever come out, which is the absolute worst part of all this for me. Even when this book comes out, it still won’t be about Jaime and thus I have no idea how to be anything but miserable. 

Don’t get me wrong. This character is definitely a smarmy ass for most of the books, but sadly Jaime Lannister is right. There are no other characters like him. There is only him, and I have been so incredibly unkindly deprived of more of him for nearly six years now. So deprived that I don’t even care that the next book will have three freakin’ dragons in it because Jaime won’t be there. How I am supposed to forget all about Jaime Lannister? How can you stop thinking about a beloved book villain or forget about the absolute insane magic that was reading all about him or her? I sure wish I knew.

In the mean time, I will be hopping all over the place to find new villains to focus on. Hopefully some of them will be from a stand-alone book or completed series or at least a series that isn’t so bloody painful to wait on. *keeps fingers crossed*

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop, Bookish Nostalgia, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 3/4-3/7

  1. Nanny says:

    Cool I’m going to have to check this out. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Darkeva says:

    Hi April!
    Stopping by since you were so kind to drop by chez moi 😉 I’ve never been able to get into Martin and I know fierce devotees who are like “Whattt????” lol But anywho, sounds like you enjoy the character, and hope you have a great weekend!

    D

    • Hello! Thanks for hopping by! 🙂

      I know what you mean. I had a heck of a time getting through that first book, and really I don’t care about most of the characters outside of Jaime at this point. Which somehow only makes it worse. LOL ah well.

  3. I totally understand missing a favorite character. There are a couple of series I can’t touch any more because my favorite character was killed off. There’s no reason to go on!

  4. Alison says:

    Hopping through. Hope you have a great weekend!
    My Hop

  5. Lindsay says:

    Returning your Hop 🙂

    I sympathize with your exasperation with a slowly releasing series, even though I don’t share it in this particular case. I must admit, I quit Song of Fire and Ice after A Storm of Swords. I started skipping chapters to only read about characters I liked, and then he just kept killing all the characters I liked… in the end I decided they were too depressing for me, and maybe I’ll go back and marathon them if they ever get finished.

    I generally like dark/realistic settings, I like horror and I love epic fantasy, this series just started to rub me the wrong way.

    • Thanks for hopping over!

      I totally understand how that goes. I flat out did not like the first book, but I did like the next two and then I think it was the last one that really made me love characters. Of course no books have come out since and right now I honestly only care about the crazy people who worship krakens and Jaime. So really you probably dodged a bullet by not bothering. 😉

  6. Pussreboots says:

    Villains aren’t my typical fare. But I managed to think up three. Happy Blog Hop!

  7. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    Hi
    Just hopping by. Hmm I haven’t read this series, Jaime sounds disturbing though

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out
    http://www.bookdout.wordpress.com

  8. Noel R. says:

    Oh, it’s so true. Jaime is (was?) a delightfully bad bady. Good choice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

