Book Blogger Hop: 3/18-3/21

This Book Blogger Hop post is going to be short because I am completely wiped out from a full day spent at C2E2. I feel like I have absolutely no feet left, but it was still oh so much fun! I’ll be posting about some of the awesome things I got there on Sunday.

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s β€œa place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “Do you read only one book at a time, or do you have several going at once?”

I have a lot of issues finishing books I’m not overly crazy about to it often takes me longer to get through them. Because of that and because I really don’t like giving up on books, I tend to have more than one book going at a time. It’s a habit I’ve considered trying to break or banish, but I tend not to structure my reading or give myself many rules just as I don’t try to focus too much on one particular genre or subgenre of fiction.

I envy those who do read one book at a time in some ways but personally I think all that reading one book at a time would result in is my actively abandoning a lot of books on a weekly basis or having weeks where no reading would really get done. When I’m reading a lot of books, I tend to find one or two really worth reading and in most cases, I finish all of the books I have on my currently reading list.

How many books do you read at a time? Feel free to link me to your Book Blogger Hop and answer in a comment.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 3/18-3/21

  1. Mystica says:

    Coming through on the blog hop.

    I will read two books only if I am slightly bored with the first one!

  2. I read more than one book at a time, sometimes three, sometimes five!

    I read varied genres, have a truly eclectic taste in books. Feel free to explore my blog, browse mt reviews.
    Here is my Book Blogger Hop/Follow Friday post!

  3. Anne says:

    I had this thought as I was reading your blog about why I like reading more than one book at a time. Here’s my theory: When reading a book there is usually that slow part in the beginning when it hard to get traction or get to that catch point where the reading/interest picks up. At the end of a book there is that let down period because the book is finished and we miss it. By reading more than one book at once, I immediately can pivot my attention to a book that I am past the slow beginning and it helps me get over the hump left behind by finishing the other book. Does that make sense?

    I usually have multiple books going at one time, too.
    -Anne
    My Head is Full of Books

    • That makes perfect sense. It definitely keeps me from rejecting too many books right away. If I’m reading more than one, I can more easily keep one or more on hold for awhile. Plus as I read a lot of genres and go through phases where I prefer one over the other so it definitely helps to read more than one book.

      Thanks for hopping by!

  4. Alison says:

    Hopping through. I usually read multiple books at a time. I have trouble focusing on just one.
    My Hop

  5. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    Hi
    Just hopping by and following through. I can’t read multiple books at once, it would drive me crazy. I guess I read fast enough that I don’t really feel the need to

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out
    http://www.bookdout.wordpress.com

    • Understandable. I remember a time when reading more than one book didn’t work for me at all but now I can’t imagine reading one book at a time. I think I just take too many books out from the library and also buy too many.

  6. Katie says:

    Just found you through the Blog Hop! The name of your blog and header just cracked me up πŸ™‚ I am a one-book-at-a-time kind of girl. I just don’t finish them otherwise! Do you write multiple reviews at the same time as well?

    • Thank you! And yay for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      I usually write reviews as I finish a book so that’s still something I do one at a time. I don’t like composing too many reviews at once because I think it ends up making me dislike some books a little more than I would if I had time to consider them more on their own.

  7. bookzilla says:

    I think that sometimes abandoning a book is a good thing. If I’m not enjoying a book on some level by page 50, generally I put it aside and move on to something else. Reading one book at a time gives me the chance to really decide if I’m enjoying the story. There are just too many good books out there, waiting, for me to slog through a book I hate just so that I can finish it. But I do feel bad when I abandon a book, though. It’s not the book’s fault, after all. Thanks for hopping by my blog, and happy reading!

    • There’s been a few books lately where I couldn’t even make it to 50 but to some degree I usually feel a little bit of guilt. It’s true though. There’s too many books out there that will probably be better than whatever book I find myself wanting to abandon.

      Thanks for hopping back! πŸ™‚

  8. lissijo says:

    Thanks for stopping my my blog! I agree with several of the commenters here, that reading more than one book helps me be able to keep a slow-starting book ‘on hold’ for a while. That way I can come back to it when I feel like I want to, or read bits and pieces between other things and not get bogged down in the not-so-exciting parts πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!
    I hate giving up on a book too. One of the books I’m reading is nearly on it’s third month now. I just can’t get into it and unless I read it chapter by chapter while reading other things that I actually like, I don’t think I would ever finish it.

Leave a Reply

