My Book Boyfriend #8

My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by The Unread Reader where readers can swoon over boys in books every Wednesday!

Today’s Book Boyfriend is… Kenpachi Zaraki from Tite Kubo’s Bleach. It’s been awhile since I’ve read this particular manga, but I love this character very, very much.

A Decent Likeness of My Book Boyfriend:
Rather than trying to find a real person, here’s just some artwork. Because honestly no one looks like this in real life.

Kenpachi Zaraki from BleahMy Book Boyfriend Stats:

  • 6′ 6″ tall
  • Scarred.
  • Has two green eyes. Eye-patch merely seals off most of his spiritual energy.
  • Spiked hair (with bells on the end).
  • Shinigami (Soul Reaper/Death God)
  • Captain of the 11th Division. Killed the previous Captain.
  • Wild, aggressive, and demonic.
  • Lives to fight.
  • Kenpachi: Title given to the most power shinigami in any given generation who has slain the most enemies and wins the most battles.
  • Zaraki: Name of the 80th district and the most violent, lawless sector of Soul Society.
  • Adopted daughter: Yachiru Kusajishi.

What Led to Massive Crushing:
I’m big on fictional characters who can fight and who are not apologetic for who or what they are. And I love everything about Zaraki, especially the fact that even with all the craziness going on with him, he still has adopted a little girl with bright pink hair. Zaraki even takes excellent care of his own hair as well.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Manga/Manhwa, My Book Boyfriend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Book Boyfriend #8

  1. Missie says:

    A father by adoption who can share hair styling tips with his daughter is just too sweet. And I’ve noticed myself feeling much the same about fictional characters who are not apologetic for who they are.

    Fantastic illustration.

    • Totally sweet, and it’s really just sort of nice when a character doesn’t need anyone to get him or her. And when that kind of confidence is supported by them having great fighting abilities, that’s awesome. 🙂

      Yes! I love that picture.

  2. Belle says:

    Look at those nails! They could do some damage.

  3. Love the illustration. He sounds awesome 🙂

  4. I have to say he is one scary dude. But the fact that he adopted a little girl and that she has pink hair! That says a lot, and that there really is a softer side there. 🙂

    Great pick!

  5. Michelle says:

    I love this! I just did my first Book Boyfriend post, and if you’re interested, you can find it here:

Leave a Reply

