Book Blogger Hop: 4/1-4/4

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “Since today is April Fool’s Day in the USA, what is the best prank you have ever played on someone OR that someone has played on you?”

I really can’t recall ever playing a prank on someone or one that anyone’s played on me around or near April Fool’s Day. I’m pretty gullible though so I tend to believe a lot of things that people tell me during the rest of the year.

An example that stands out in my mind happens when I was a lot younger. There’s a food chain near where I live called Portillo’s that serves various American fast food and its decorations are similar to TGI Friday’s. One of the Portillo’s near me also has this display hanging from the ceiling that features a very realistic mannequin.

One day my father told me and my sisters that the mannequin was actually one of the restaurant workers hanging out and that if you looked closely you’d see him blinking. The next eight or so times that we went there, we looked and occasionally decided we did see him moving. And I think we were more disappointed than embarrassed when we finally figured out what was going on.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 4/1-4/4

  1. Howard says:

    At first I wasn’t going to participate in this week’s Book Blogger Hop. I’m not even sure why.

    But here I am. And I’m glad! To dispel any false impressions people may have had about me being a old, stodgy fuddy-duddy I’m happy to share some of my very best pranks with you.

    Highlights include – low-grade explosives, eggs and salt shakers. Get all the side-splitting details over on my blog – http://www.howardsherman.net

    They date back to my younger years as a Brooklyn boy which brings about some introspection.

    I’m going to go pull some pranks today. Look out world! I’m coming out of prankster retirement!
    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Wonder why the restaurant has that mannequin hanging…that seems odd.

    I am stopping by from the blog hop.

    Hope you have a fun blog hop.

    Stop by my blog if you like to see my answer.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

