On My Wishlist #9

Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

I just have one awesome-looking book this week:

Kraken: The Curious, Exciting, and Slightly Disturbing Science of Squid by Wendy Williams  
Kraken: The Curious, Exciting, and Slightly Disturbing Science of Squid by Wendy Williams – I am equal parts afraid and fascinated by small and giant cephalopods. I blame this on H. P. Lovecraft, Peter Benchley, and a bad experience with sushi.

SummaryKraken is the traditional name for gigantic sea monsters, and this book introduces one of the most charismatic, enigmatic, and curious inhabitants of the sea: the squid. The pages take the reader on a wild narrative ride through the world of squid science and adventure, along the way addressing some riddles about what intelligence is, and what monsters lie in the deep. In addition to squid, both giant and otherwise, Kraken examines other equally enthralling cephalopods, including the octopus and the cuttlefish, and explores their otherworldly abilities, such as camouflage and bioluminescence.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On My Wishlist #9

  1. Safari Poet says:

    Cool cover, I didn’t even realize it was a squid at first.

    Happy reading 🙂

  2. Ellie says:

    Oh I’ve put in a request for a review copy – the cover caught me and then the subject manner relled me in! Fingers crossed.

  3. Barbara says:

    lol – bad experience with sushi? Now to graduate to Kraken by China Mieville!

    From last week’s OMW, I asked about my nephew and your list – my parents ended up buying him the entire Alcatraz line by Sanderson and my nephew went bonkers over it.

    So CSI Librarian for the win!

  4. Pussreboots says:

    Kraken must immediately go on my wishlist! This week’s featured wish is about washing dishes Come see why I added it.

  5. Pingback: Kraken « Earthpages.ca

  6. You know I havenb’t heard of this one before. Sounds like a slippery pick. 😉

Leave a Reply

