Vote for the 41st annual Locus Awards: April 4th – April 15th

Locus Awards

I’m participating in Ranting Dragon’s 2011 Locus Challenge and since the voting begins soon, I figured I’d make a post about it. I totally love the recommended reading list too and whether I get to them now or later, I still want to read a sizable portion of the other Locus nominees. In fact, I sort of want to read all of them. I just don’t have the time to do so before April 15th.

General Information:

The Locus Awards are presented to winners of Locus Magazine’s annual readers’ poll, which was established in the early ’70s specifically to provide recommendations and suggestions to Hugo Awards voters. Over the decades the Locus Awards have often drawn more voters than the Hugos and Nebulas combined. In recent years Locus Awards are presented at an annual banquet, and unlike any other award, explicitly honor publishers of winning works with certificates. [text taken directly from the Locus Awards website]

Voting for the 41st annual Locus Awards begins on April 4th and ends on April 15th. You do not need to be a subscriber to vote, but the ballots of Locus subscribers will count double. It’s not open yet, but for those interested in voting, the poll and survey is located here or you can click on the Locus logo at the top of this entry.

My Voting Thoughts:

I’m slowly getting ’round to reading Surface Detail by Iain M. Banks and I should have that done before I vote, but I have to admit that unless it blows me away, I’ll probably be voting for Yarn by Jon Armstrong as my number 1 pick in terms of Science Fiction because I really loved its fashionpunk.

I’m definitely voting for Instructions by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess in the Art Book category and A Book of Tongues by Gemma Files in terms of First Book. I still need to post a review for it if I can organize my thoughts and stop pining for its sequel. But over all, it was exceptionally awesome, full of dark richness, and featured really messed-up cowboys and a Mayan-Aztec goddess. So clearly it needs to be voted for. 

I also know that I’ll be voting for  Zoo City by Lauren Beukes in Fantasy. I’ve gotten halfway through Kraken by China Miéville and need to get back to it, but I just cannot vote for anything but Zoo City as number 1 because I loved it and keep giving copies away to other people. I am going to make an effort though to get Kraken done and possibly The Habitation of the Blessed by Catherynne M. Valente because I’d like to vote for both of those as well. I’m sure I’ll write-in a few of the other books I enjoyed from 2010 too.

Best Book Publisher will be pretty difficult which is actually an awesome problem to have and it’s because I basically love all most of those publishers. Even though I still need to get more read in terms of titles, I really love what Angry Robot is doing so that’ll have to be one of the higher ranking picks. I’ll also vote for Tor because I love Tor, Orbit because Orbit gave me Rachel Aaron and a lot of other good authors, Ace because Ace gave me K.J. Taylor and some other good books, and then… Well, cue a massive debate between Del Rey, Arkham House, Subterranean Press, and Pyr.

I am totally behind on a lot of the other categories too, and really have no idea who I would vote for in Young Adult. I’ll probably end up writing in titles like Dust City by Robert Paul Weston because I wish that one had been nominated. I don’t read a lot of short fiction so there’s a few categories I’ll have to skip. Sadly the only book in the Collections category that I have read is The Ammonite Violin & Others by Caitlin R. Kiernan, but I didn’t really finish or like what I read of it.

Which books, stories, collections, etc. do you think you’ll be voting for?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Announcement, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vote for the 41st annual Locus Awards: April 4th – April 15th

  1. Redhead says:

    I have Yarn in my reading stack (borrowed from a friend, score!) and I’m excited to read it. Zoo City was excellent, and in the past three months I’ve read Valente’s Habitation of the Blessed and Deathless, and they both incredible, just astonishingly wonderful.

  2. Pingback: Review: A Book of Tongues by Gemma Files | CSI: Librarian

  3. Pingback: Vote for the 41st annual Locus Awards: Post 2 | CSI: Librarian

Leave a Reply

