On My Wishlist #10

Wishlist

On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

Divided Realms: Captured and The Darkening by Maggie L. Wood

Captured by Maggie L. Wood The Darkening by Maggie L. Wood

Summary for Captured:

A teen is transported to an enchanted realm—could she be the hero that the kingdom seeks?

Fifteen-year-old Willow Kingswell has been listening to her Nana’s tales of faeries and enchanted kingdoms for as long as she can remember. But when she is magically transported to the realm of Mistolear, she is stunned to learn that the stories were true, and that she is actually a princess. Suddenly, Willow has to fit into a royal family she didn’t know she had, deal with customs she doesn’t understand and sort out her feelings for Brand, the handsome knight who has sworn to protect her.

On top of everything, she may also be the key to saving Mistolear from a terrifying spell. The nefarious faerie prince Nezeral has pitted two kingdoms against each other in a life-or-death chess match, in which people are the game pieces. As a pawn, Willow now glows with the light of the game and must find the courage and cleverness to battle Nezeral before her loved ones fall. Could a meager pawn really be the most powerful piece on the board?

Both titles come out on May 1, 2011 and are from Lobster Press. I wouldn’t have even known anything about these books if I hadn’t been looking at April’s issue of VOYA (Voice of Youth Advocates) and decided to look at the covers on Amazon. And then I was totally sold on the idea because even though I can’t play chess to save my life, I love the combining of chess with fantasy and fairies. I cannot wait to get both books!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, Shiny New Books, Teen Book, To Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On My Wishlist #10

  1. the witch of theatregoing says:

    Hmm. I just might have to check these out – they sound pretty good. 🙂

    Here’s mine for the week: http://witchoftheatregoing.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/on-my-wishlist-%e2%99%a1-%e2%80%93-week-6/

  2. Now this sounds really good! And it’s new for me. 🙂 But cool that both books are coming out on the same day. Thank you! I’m going to add it to my want list now.

  3. Sarah says:

    These sound really awesome. Who knew a book could combine chess and fairies. Definitely original, and the covers are gorgeous.

  4. Hi April – if you review from ePubs, I can send you the books now!

Leave a Reply

