Book Blogger Hop: 4/15-4/18

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “Pick a character from a book you are currently reading or have just finished and tell us about him/her.”

I just finished Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews so I’ll talk about Kate Daniels.

Magic Burns (Kate Daniels, #2) by Ilona AndrewsKate’s a tough, magical mercenary who keeps ending up way over her head and getting out of it due to her unique, fairly mysterious abilities. She’s afraid to be vulnerable or open with anyone and yet she finds herself growing closer to a very powerful, fascinating, and very handsome lion shapeshifter named Curran. In this book, she also ends up becoming very close to a young girl in a lot of trouble and dealing with the unwanted advances of Bran, one of Morrigan’s Hounds.

Although I still think Kate’s attitude leaves much to be desired because I am not a big fan of characters getting the better of everyone they encounter, I find myself really liking her in a lot of other respects. She has a really unique take on things and a very dark sense of humor. I hope she continues to grow as I continue reading her series.

I’d say more but I would rather move on to the third book in this series. Or work on my review so that’s all for now!

What character did you pick?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 4/15-4/18

  1. I digress, I’ve been wanting to pick up Ilona Andrew’s books for quite sometime, but haven’t due to my anxiety over recent titles (way too much explaining would be involved if I told you why). What do you think of this series overall? Is it worth the read?

    I just finished the second book in a YA series, Hex Hall. If you read YA, it was enjoyable and funny and the characters were fun to read as well. Love the blog! I’m your newest follower.

    Jen
    In the Closet With a Bibliophile

    • I have to say that the first book was really, really not fun at all. But this second book was much better. Kate seems to have a lot of growing up to do, and this time it was much easier for me to cut her more slack. I’m still not sure if it’s really the most rewarding series, but I can let you know once I get a few more titles read in it.

      Ooo thanks for the suggestion. I really have been meaning to read those, and I’ll have to give them a try. 🙂 And yay! Thanks for following. Your blog looks great too.

  2. Rachel says:

    Just stopping by via the hop! Nice to meet you 🙂

    Rachel
    And the plot thickens…

Leave a Reply

