On My Wishlist #12

WishlistOn My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

White Crane (Samurai Kids, #1) by Sandy Fussell

White Crane (Samurai Kids #1) by Sandy Fussell – This book just sounds incredibly awesome to me and I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy!

Check out this summary – Niya Moto is the only one-legged samurai kid in Japan, famous for falling flat on his face in the dirt. The one school that will accept him is the Cockroach Ryu, led by the legendary sensei Ki-Yaga. He may be an old man overly fond of naps, but Ki-Yaga is also known for taking in kids that the world has judged harshly: an albino girl with extra fingers and toes, a boy who is blind, a big kid whose past makes him loath to fight.

A warrior in his time, Ki-Yaga demands excellence in everything from sword fighting to poetry. But can the ragtag Cockroaches make the treacherous journey to the Samurai Trainee Games, never mind take on the all-conquering Dragons? In a fast-moving, action-filled tale that draws on true details of feudal Japan, Niya finds there’s no fear they can’t face as long as they stick together β€” for their friendship is more powerful than a samurai sword.

What’s on your Wishlist this week?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, Teen Book, To Read and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On My Wishlist #12

  1. Barbara says:

    This sounds really cool! Yet another CSI Librarian rec sent on to my brother to see if my nephew would like it. Anything with adventure, spunky and heroic kids and the occasional sword works really well for him. πŸ™‚

    My Wishlist

  2. J. Rosemary says:

    This sounds great! I’m rooting for Team Cockroach. πŸ™‚

  3. Jennifer says:

    just returning the follow.

  4. Oh this sounds like a great warrior read! πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy it when you get it. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment