eBooks and Me


Oh, eBooks.

It’s such a headache-inducing conundrum for me because I honestly love carting books around. I don’t see it as a burden and I like the physical space that books take up. Furthermore, I am very, very draconic in terms of the stuff I love. I must have it near me and I must collect it. I’ve collected rocks, I’ve collected field guides, I’ve collected Star Wars action figures, and I’ve always collected books. I grew up carrying piles of books around and ideally I would like to be buried with all of my books like some kind of demented Viking Queen.  

HOWEVER, I can’t say I won’t read eBooks and I don’t actually want to say that because I do not want to say no to reading as many genres as possible or finding new awesome authors. For example, one of my favorite genres is M/M Romance. A lot of books in that particular genre are only available as eBooks and I really enjoy them. So of course I see the value in eBooks and I don’t dislike them at all. I also totally understand the appeal and interest they garner because even without an eBook Reader, I still buy them. 

Ultimately and in terms of reviews,  I’ve decided that physical copies are king. For one thing, when they arrive, I can dance around the house with them. I also do not have to worry about having my eyes go on strike until such a time as I feel significantly motivated enough to get an eReader. And I suspect that day is a long ways off because if I ever decide to spend a ton of money on myself, I’m more likely to spend it on a new gaming console than books.

…Why?

Because right now I could build myself a veritable Fortress of Solitude out of all the books I have (purchased or recently checked out of the library or gotten from some awesome giveaway or another) and still have enough to probably make a freakin’ Batcave to boot. Seriously. My name is April and I have a Book Problem and I love it.

I wonder though… Is anyone else as conflicted about eBooks as I am?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts, Librarian's Lament and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to eBooks and Me

  1. Noel R. says:

    Hm. This is something I should probably blog about, too, during one of those weeks I don’t have any reviews up.

    I don’t know if I’m conflicted, but I’m certainly in a similar boat. I prefer real books. I just do and always will. An ebook will never quite do it for me, so I don’t go out of my way to buy them, and I don’t buy them instead of real books. I tend to roll my eyes every time someone tells me books are on the way out and ebooks are the new future. Yeah, whatever, guys. I think you underestimate just how many people still love real paper.

    On the other hand, there are some reasons why I might buy ebooks. In some cases, like you said, the work is only available in that form. Also, if it’s an out of print title that’s still available as an ebook, that’s another reason. Or if it’s something I don’t know if I want to commit to, but I want to try, I might get the ebook (if it’s cheaper…if it’s not, I’ll buy a hardcopy). Or if it’s not available in my town and I can’t be bothered to wait around for an order, either because I’m impatient or I’m out of town or something, then there you are.

    But I’m like you. I collect real books. Sadly, I’ve had to give away some of my collection over the last two years simply because I no longer have space. But I’m only letting go of books that I’m not very much attached to, that I didn’t like, or that I don’t think I’ll reread ever again. I would LIKE to keep those books–yes, even the ones I don’t like–but for now it suits me fine to take them to the used bookstore and trade them for something new I want to try and might love (and keep).

    Oh, another downside to ebooks is that they give me headaches. I recently got an iPad and a Droid phone, and BOTH of these methods of reading give me migraines. I can, however, read pretty constantly on a Sony Reader, so that’s not so bad. 🙂

    Like you, I also don’t mind traveling with books. I came to my parents’ house to watch their dog for a week while they’re away, and I brought about fifteen books with me. I don’t mind in the least. My only concern is in not damaging them in the transit because I’m particular like that.

    • Yeah, I definitely think my view of books doesn’t lend itself as naturally to eBooks as it might if circumstances were different. But yeah… between the compulsive collecting, the not travelling, getting a lot of books for free from the library, and preferring physical books, it’s just never going to be a priority with me.

      Also I’ve discovered through checking out library eBook readers that screens of any kind make me restless after awhile when it comes to reading. I’m a lot more likely to abandon a book for any reason I can think of if I’m using an eBook reader. I think it comes from spending most of my work day in front of a computer and seeing books as a way to get away from that sort of thing.

      I don’t think of one as real and the other as fake, but I do sort of like books that take up space. And I sincerely hate the notion that printed books are on their way out.

  2. Amanda says:

    I was pretty much conflicted about ebooks until I got my own Kindle and read one on it. Before then, I’d remained skeptical about ebooks and ereaders, even though so many book bloggers, and my mom had fallen in love. I resisted the idea after reading some ebooks on my computer. I even had a little doubt about them after purchasing my Kindle because I love reading books – physical books. But…I’m a week into reading ebooks on my Kindle and I love it.

  3. Hello, just found this page from digg. It’s not blog post I would regularly read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thank you for creating something worth reading!

  4. Yes! I am.

    I love my books and showing them off when I go places. It’s like free publicity when I read my book in public. And I love making the sticky notes and holding that paper in my hand and looking at my shelves all the time.

    Ebooks seem to be the rising future. I don’t want to say I wont go there. But I’m not really ready to go there. I don’t have an ereader so reading ebooks is harder on the computer. And I’m finding there are authors with books I want to read that are only in eformat. So I have to pass on them at the time being.

    But, I don’t want to give up my books as I love looking at the spines and covers on my shelves. But with getting the ereaders I would buy books faster and be in a bigger hole with books. lol.

    Enjoy!

    • Yeah I can’t rule eBooks out, but I definitely think I will always find physical copies more rewarding. I love having books pile up all over the place.

      I think the saying no is the hardest part for me. Especially in terms of review requests, but I ‘ve tried to make it pretty clear that I don’t really want eARCS and it’s too hard to read on a computer. And I agree. Wandering around showing off whatever book I’m working on is a lot more fun than wandering around with an eReader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

