Reader’s Progress #23

My own weekly meme where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week.

Read:
The Devil You Know, The Devil’s Due, Speak of the Devil, and The Devil’s Playground (Books 2-5 of the Morgan Kingsley series) by Jenna Black –

Over all, I’d give the series a 4 out of 5 stars. Black is a very talented writer, and I am eager to give her YA series a try. I loved her take on demons, I liked Morgan a lot, and I adored Adam and Dominic, the gay couple she worked with. The issues with Morgan’s boyfriend Brian and demon Lugh weren’t really resolved in a very satisfying way and I definitely thought the last book was the weakest. That said, I am keeping my fingers crossed that someday there might be more books set in this fictional world. And I wouldn’t mind at all of Dominic and Adam became the main characters.

Spider’s Bite by Jennifer Estep – Will review next week.

Reviewed:
Hexed by Kevin Hearne – its release date is June 7th.
Juniper Berry by M. P. Kozlowsky
Picture Book Round-up #3
Thistle Down by Irene Radford – DNF, its release date is also June 7th.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

