On My Wishlist #21: Mozart’s Last Aria by Matt Rees

WishlistOn My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s a meme where participants list books they want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

I am really, really excited about Mozart’s Last Aria by Matt Rees. It came out on May 1st in the UK, but it won’t come out until November 1st in the US. Over all, I think the UK cover better so that’s the one I’m using here:

Mozart's Last Aria by Matt Rees
Summary: It is 1791 and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is enlightenment Vienna’s brightest star. Master of the city’s music halls and devoted member of the Austrian Freemason’s guild, he stands at the heart of an electric mix of art and music, philosophy and science, politics and intrigue. Six weeks ago, the great composer told his wife he had been poisoned. Yesterday, he died. The city is buzzing with rumours of infidelity, bankruptcy and murder.

But Wolfgang’s sister Nannerl, returned from the provinces to investigate, will not believe base gossip. Who but a madman would poison such a genius? Yet as she looks closely at what her brother left behind – a handwritten score, a scrap of paper from his journal – Nannerl finds traces of something sinister: the threads of a masonic conspiracy that reach from the gilded ballrooms of Viennese society to the faceless offices of the Prussian secret service.

Only when watching Wolfgang’s bewitching opera, The Magic Flute, does Nannerl truly understand her beloved brother once again. For, encoded in his final arias, is a subtly crafted blueprint for a radical new tomorrow. Mozart hoped to change his future. Instead he sealed his fate.

What’s On Your Wishlist this week?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in On My Wishlist, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On My Wishlist #21: Mozart’s Last Aria by Matt Rees

  1. Samantha says:

    Sounds like an interesting read! I hadn’t heard of it before but I’m definitely going to have to check it out.

  2. Pussreboots says:

    Sounds good. I hope you get your book. My featured wish this week is Babymouse: Monster Mash by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm. Come see why.

  3. That actually sounds really goo even to a YA reader like myself. I would be really interested to hear your thoughts on it when you get to read it 😀

Leave a Reply

