Best Reads of 2011 (So Far)

Well, the year is slightly more than halfway over and since this seems to be the new trend, here are my Best Reads of 2011 so far. Not all of them were written this year, but they are all books that really stood out to me and that are well worth taking a look at. Especially if you’re like me and you spend the summer hiding indoors with eighteen fans on.

The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie – Quite frankly one of the best Epic Fantasy books I’ve read and am likely to read. If you’re sick of the same old stuff and wish you were reading something fun that still possessed substance, pick this up!

A Book of Tongues by Gemma Files – A book I think I’ve read about eight times now and every time I still find myself wondering where this book was all of my life. I need to get around to the sequel at some point.

The Dark Griffin by K. J. Taylor – The story of a griffin and his man. Utterly awesome and epic. Certainly a must-read for anyone in need of a change of pace. And a griffin… Did I mention this is about griffins?

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – Is already out in the UK and comes out September 27th in the US from Candlewick. Words still cannot express how grateful I am to have read this book at the exactly right moment in time.

Muffled Drum by Erastes and Outcast Mine by Jamie Craig – M/M Romance at its finest!

The Spirit Thief by Rachel Aaron – Imagine Terry Pratchett and Hayao Miyazaki in a blender and turned into an absolutely delightful first book in a series. And I need to pay Eli a visit again soon.

Unveiled by Courtney Milan – Is the most perfect Historical Romance OF ALL TIME.

Zoo City by Lauren Beukes – Just about the most original book I’ve read in ages that featured a female protagonist that I’d actually like to become best friends with. I could not put Zoo City down and the only thing I can really hold against it is the fact that it ended at all.

And the absolute worst book I’ve read in 2011 remains Spider Bones by Kathy Reichs. But I am definitely curious to see what Temperence Brennan does to NASCAR on August 23rd when Flash and Bones comes out.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Best Reads of 2011 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Best Reads of 2011 (So Far)

  1. Erastes says:

    i loved the abercrombie trilogy, but found the ending too downbeat. Have you tried “The steel remains” by Richard Morgan?

    and thank you so much! I’m very flattered.

    • Ugh, downbeat endings. That’s too bad. And I keep thinking of checking The Steel Remains out since the sequel comes out in October. But I’m a little wary of it only because it looks depressing. What did you think of it?

      You’re totally welcome. I love your writing. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the great list of books here. I’ve got a few of these that have caught my eye and are on my want list, but posts like this helps bring them back around to my attention again. 🙂 Thank you!

  3. Gemma Files says:

    I’ve been hoping to see you get around to A Rope of Thorns, not least because there’s been a real paucity of reviews thus far. Were you able to pick up a copy? (And once again, thank you so much for your love and support of A Book of Tongues. It warms my heart.;))

    • Yes! I finally managed to get one after constantly having its shipping delayed for no apparent reason, and I have to admit I’ve been stalling. Not because I don’t think it’ll be awesome but because I’m afraid it’ll be sad or I’ll be sad when I have to wait for the next one. BUT I will man up and read it soon. And love it. And review it. 🙂

      (Aw, you are so incredibly welcome! A Book of Tongues deserves lots and lots of love.)

Leave a Reply

