My Book Boyfriend #17

My Book Boyfriend is a weekly meme hosted by The Unread Reader where readers can swoon over boys in books every Wednesday!

After taking a somewhat epic break, I’m finally getting back to this meme. But please keep in mind that my picks will be a bit atypical in that I don’t usually fall in love with attractive men who grace the pages of romance novels. I tend to prefer loner anti-heroes or villains or men whose personalities greatly outshine their physical appearence in many ways.

Case in point? Today’s Book Boyfriend is…

Sinestro from DC Comics’ Green Lantern series. Because not only did I see the movie recently, but I re-read Green Lantern: Secret Origin by Geoff Johns. Neither one is perfect, but both have something the other lacks, which is pretty cool.

A Decent Likeness of My Book Boyfriend:
Mark Strong did a fine job. I just wish he’d had more screen time. The picture I’ve used is Sinestro Corps by ~thedemonknight.

sinestro corps by thedemonknight
My Book Boyfriend Stats:
– Full name: Thaal Sinestro
– From Korugar
– Formerly the Green Lantern of Sector 1417
– Current Leader of Sinestro Corps
– Arch-Nemesis of the Green Lantern Corps
– Wields a yellow power ring
– Is capable of utilizing and manipulating great fear

What Led to Massive Crushing:
I love me some aliens. Especially the ones with pointy ears, awesome skin pigmentation, and widow’s peaks.

But more seriously… I really, really find comic book villains to be more compelling. Granted Sinestro isn’t as sympathetic as some, but I really like the role he plays in the Green Lantern comics particularly his interactions with Hal Jordan who is just pretty much as dull normal as a hero can get. I also find the whole colors and emotions connection that is used in the comics to be really fascinating and over all Sinestro Corps is incredibly creepy.

Who’s your Book Boyfriend?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in My Book Boyfriend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Book Boyfriend #17

  1. Missie says:

    I’m not sure if I can get behind aliens for my boyfriend…. oh wait…. vampire aliens count, right?

    Awesome artwork. I haven’t watched the new movie yet, but I do want to. Thanks.

    • *g* I think vampire aliens count… Although now I’m curious about what book these vampire aliens are from.

      Thanks! It was a fun movie. I wish it had been a bit longer and better about details but ah well. 🙂

  2. Reading Lark says:

    Very cool choice! My husband loves these comics.

    Reading Lark’s Book Boyfriend

Leave a Reply

