RT Book Reviews – My August 2011 Picks

RT Book Reviews August 2011Not a lot of the books in this issue were of interest to me, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing particularly when one considers my current, unwieldly pile of books to read. The self-publishing sections of the issue were quite interesting though since I’ve been thinking more and more about publishing my own writing lately.

Historical Romance
Camelot’s Enchantment by Cynthia Breeding – Morgan Le Fay and Cernunnos? Color me intrigued!

Mystery, Suspense & Thriller
A Game of Lies by Rebecca Cantrell

Paranormal Romance
Blood Hunt by Shannon K. Butcher – Got a great review.
Storm’s Heart by Thea Harrison – Also got a great review.

Science Fiction & Fantasy
The Edinburgh Dead by Brian Ruckley
Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia
Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence
Tattoo by Kirsten Imani Kasai
The Tempering of Men by Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear – Sadly the ARC I was being sent by Tor never seems to get to me, but I definitely plan on reading this book someway somehow.

Urban Fantasy
Bloodlands by Christine Cody – Can’t wait to read this!
The Moonlight Brigade by Sarah Jane Stratford – Looks really, really good!
Second Grave On the Left by Darynda Jones – I still need to read the first book in this series ASAP.
Working Stiff by Rachel Caine – I love the premise so I’m really looking forward to reading this one.

Young Adult
The Childe by C. A. Kunz
Dark Parties by Sara Grant
The Other Countess by Eve Edwards – Out July 12th. I’m also interested in the sequel, Queen’s Lady that comes out in Spring 2012.
Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep – I’m still interested but… the review in RT Book Reviews has me a bit worried about how much I’ll enjoy this book.
Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RT Book Reviews – My August 2011 Picks

  1. Hugely honored to be on this list, April! Thank you so much and I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

