Book Blogger Hop: 7/22-7/25

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “What’s the ONE GENRE that you wish you could get into, but just can’t?”

This is a hard question. For the most part, the genres I’m not into are genres I am perfectly happy to avoid like the plague such as Chick Lit or anything remotely Post-Modern.

If we’re talking about problematic genres or subgenres that I occasionally ponder quitting for good in moments of extreme disappointment, I would go with Romance, Steampunk, and Horror. For every book I like, there’s usually about twenty that I don’t, which can be extremely frustrating… But the truth is I wouldn’t be able to abandon them completely because there are really awesome exceptions to the rule. And even though I’ve been burnt by their books a bajillion times, they are genres I routinely request, purchase, read, and review. 

What ONE GENRE appeals to you the least? Feel free to comment and link me to your post!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 7/22-7/25

  1. Red Bear says:

    You are so direct, to the point and truthful, No crap which fills most blogs.
    What you share makes me think s lot. Thank you!
    Your loyal, appreciative fan,
    Red Bear

  2. Pussreboots says:

    I read a ton of horror as a teen but it’s not in my regular rotation now as an adult. Since last week’s pie chart about where I get my books was so popular, I thought I’d share what types of books I do read. Please stop by to see which genres I don’t typically read.

Leave a Reply

