Audio Book Cravings #1

This rarely ever happens to me, but right now there are four audio books that I am pining after. So here they are in alphabetical order:

Hammered by Kevin Hearne  Hammered by Kevin Hearne, read by Luke Daniels – For some reason I think I’d have an easier time getting through the audio book than the mass market paperback.

The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan, read by Robin Sachs  The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan, read by Robin Sachs (Random House/Brilliance Audio) – I loved I, Lucifer, but I was on the fence about this book until I found out Robin Sashs was involved. Now I definitely feel the need to get around to it in the near future.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, read by Jason Issacs  A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, read by Jason Issacs (Candlewick/Brillance Audio, September 27) – I’ve already read and reviewed the book, but it is amazing and one that I would read again in a heartbeat. And you cannot imagine the extent of my delight upon learning that Jason Issacs (aka Lucius Malfoy) will be reading it.

The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice, read by Simon Vance  The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice, read by Simon Vance (Books on Tape) – I have read this book more than 20 times. Although I eventually came to be absolutely disgusted by the Vampire Chronicles as well as nearly everything else involving vampires, my love for this book and for Lestat remains untarnished. I’m still not sure how I would have survived high school without him. I don’t know if I want to re-read the book any time soon, but I am positive that I want to listen to Simon Vance read it to me.

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Audio Book, Bookish Thoughts, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Audio Book Cravings #1

  1. FUNNESS 🙂 I don’t listen to a lot of audiotapes (read:NONE), but I am glad you are pining for a few! Jason Isaacs sounds like he would be a good narrator – very lovely voice 🙂 I haven’t read any Anne Rice and keep meaning to – perhaps I will start with this book!

    • If I didn’t drive so much, I wouldn’t bother with them very much but it can be nice when I’m going to and from work. 🙂

      If you’re going to attempt Anne Rice? The Vampire Lestat is definitely the best book. Although…lol I don’t know if I’d bother with the rest if I was you. They get weird then bizarre then awful very quickly.

  2. I’ve heard the books and audio books for Kevin Hearne are wonderful. I have the first 2 books here on my shelf. I’ll need to get the third to complete the trilogy. 😉 But the other 3 books here are new to me. I’ll have to look into them. Thanks! Hope you get and enjoy them all.

Leave a Reply

