Picture Book Round-Up #5

In an effort to distract myself from copious amounts of stress, I’ve been reading a lot of picture books lately. And since this is my 5th Picture Book Round-Up, here’s my review of 5:

Arthur Turns Green (Arthur Adventure Series) by Marc Brown  Arthur Turns Green by Marc Brown – Really cute and funny too. I really liked the idea that D.W. is worried Arthur is literally turning green. I think the best part is that the picture book gets a message across without being too pushy or offering up a lecture on the subject of going green.

Gabby and Grandma Go Green by Monica Wellington  Gabby & Grandma Go Green by Monica Wellington – Cute, but somewhat heavy-handed in terms of the over all message. I love the whimsical illustrations, the concept, and the instructions for making a reusable bag on the back, but I think that it could have been a bit more playful in its approach.

Roly-Poly Egg by Kali Stileman Roly-Poly Egg by Kali Stileman – Splotch lays the perfect egg, but when it falls out of the nest, she has to hurry to keep it safe. Cute, colorful, and similar to Eric Carle’s style while still being distinct.

Tweak Tweak by Eve Bunting  Tweak Tweak by Eve Bunting and illustrated by Sergio Ruzzier – Baby and Mama Elephant are going for a walk. Whenever Baby has a question, she pulls on her Mama’s tail and gets an answer. I really like how sweet the story is and how important it is to not only get answers but to have questions to ask.

The Voyage of Turtle Rex by Kurt Cyrus  The Voyage of Turtle Rex by Kurt Cyrus – A very touching story of a prehistoric turtle’s life cycle as well as a look at oceanic life in those times. I also love how Cyrus ties all of that into the way turtles are now. The rhyming was well done too all things considered.

Related Articles:

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Recs, Picture Book, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picture Book Round-Up #5

  1. Pingback: Reader’s Progress #33 | CSI: Librarian

  2. Pingback: Fountas and Pinnell

Leave a Reply

