Book Blogger Hop: 8/19-8/22

Book Blogger HopEvery Friday, Jennifer from Crazy For Books sets up the Book Blogger Hop. It’s “a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!”

This week’s question is: “What’s the LONGEST book you’ve ever read?”

This is a toss-up between Les Miserables by Victor Hugo, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien, The Black Jewels Trilogy by Anne Bishop, or The Stand by Stephen King.

When I was younger, I remember there being periods of time where I only read massive tomes. But I have to admit that over the years I have become very wary of epic brick-shaped tomes. Particularly in regards to current, successful writers who either won’t adhere to, won’t allow for, or somehow get a free pass when it comes to editing. I know length isn’t the only indication, but it can be one of the symptoms.

Anyway, I’m sure the Hop will point me in the direction of better, longer books to add to my massive To Be Read pile. I already know I’m probably going to have to re-read some Dumas in the near future. Just mentioning him makes me nostalgic.

Feel free to comment and link me to your post!

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Hop, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Blogger Hop: 8/19-8/22

  1. Madigan says:

    I like to read a series for that reason… I’ve already learned about all the characters and I don’t have to start fresh. But for super-long books, I think they should break them up into multiple books. Especially those thousand-pagers – they’re too heavy to carry it!

  2. I’ve never read The Black Jewels, but all the other ones are some of my favorites!

    Have a great week!

  3. nikki says:

    The count of Monte cristo is by far one if my favs but I got through that one a lot faster than weuthering heights but Im pretty sure I threw that one a few times out of frustration ..lol

  4. Karen says:

    I read an article not that long ago about the lack of editing in modern day tomes. It said that it takes more talent to write a smaller book. Not sure I completely agree with that but I know where it’s coming from. Les Mis and Monte Cristo are on my tr list. I love a good classic. I loved The Stand too.

Leave a Reply

