Reader’s Progress #35

My own weekly meme where I keep track of books I’ve read, books I’ve had to put aside, and books I’ve reviewed for the past week. Since August ended this week, I’ve also listed my progress in terms of reading challenges and books I’ve read.

August in Review:
Read/Listened To: 22 books

Reading Challenges:
2011: 175 out of 200 books
Horror & Urban Fantasy: 25 books so far, goal has been met and exceeded
Nordic: 4 out of 11
Speculative Fiction: 20 books so far, goal has been met and exceeded

Abandoned:
Call Me Princess by Sara Blaedel – Louise Rick seemed like a neat protagonist and I can definitely see why this book is getting so much acclaim and attention… but online dating leading to rape and trauma is not actually something I enjoy reading. Particularly not when I just started attempting online dating again.

Woman with a Birthmark by Håkan Nesser – I love Van Veeteren as a character and Simon Vance is an excellent narrator, but this was just alternated being boring and irritating 90% of the time. And I hated having no idea what was at stake for anyone or what motivated the killer. I might read this book on my own at some point because I have a feeling that I would have enjoyed it marginally better that way.

Read:
American Vampire vol. 2 by Scott Snyder
A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
Locke & Key vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill and illustrated Gabriel Rodriguez

Reviewed:
American Vampire vol. 1 by Scott Snyder and Stephen King
Sad Monsters: Growling on the Outside, Crying on the Inside by Frank Lesser – out on September 27

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Reader's Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

