To every book, there is (apparently) a season…

While working on my review for Beautiful Days by Anna Godbersen for next week, it occurred to me that what I like to read when is greatly affected by the seasons. Below is what seems to be my recurring pattern for the last few years or more. 

Fall:
– Historical Fiction
– Teen Fiction
– Monsters
– Vampires
– H. P. Lovecraft
– P. G. Wodehouse
– Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
– Comforting Re-reads

Thought Process: It is chilly and I need something awesome to read outside. But I am also feeling down because I’m a year older and will need something comforting like monsters, Sherlock Holmes, or Bertie Wooster.

Winter:
– Terry Pratchett
– Historical Fiction
– Science Fiction
– Mythology
– Private Investigators
– Nordic Mysteries

Thought Process: Similar to Fall. But now I also am starting to wonder why I don’t branch out more and why I never read a lot of Mystery or Sciene Fiction. Also Christmas means re-reading Hogfather. And that means more Discworld because you can’t just read one.

Spring:
– Historical Romance
– Paranormal Romance
– Steampunk
– Fantasy
– Robert B. Parker
– Westerns

Thought Process: I need more romance or something with gears in it and it’s been awhile since I gave it the old college try. If that doesn’t work, I will need to read about cowboys who have worse luck than I do preferably by Parker.

Summer:
– Serial Killers
– Nordic Mysteries
– Fantasy
– True Crime
– Comforting Re-reads
– Weird Childhood Favorites

Thought Process: It is hot or will be hot soon and I am angry. No one will like me if I get angry. Clearly I need books about deranged people. Or something comforting and weird that may or may not take place in a frigid barren wilderness.

 This isn’t to say that I only read things at certain times of year or that I will always get around to everything listed, but this is what I seem to immediately opt to latch onto as soon as Summer, Winter, Autumn, or Spring arrives.

So. Are there any books, authors, or genres you feel the sudden urge to read whenever there’s a change in the weather?

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To every book, there is (apparently) a season…

  1. I tend to go back to old favorites by season. Fall is time for creepy stories, of course, but also the books I read as a kid because fall always makes me nostalgic for going back to school. And Saiyuki, possibly because that’s when I first read it and possibly because, well, “Happy Angstgiving.” I always reread Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell for Christmas, and The Dark is Rising (and, like you, Terry Pratchett); summer is epic fantasy season.

  2. Red Bear says:

    Fascinating! You are amazing!
    I heard its is about your birthday.
    HAPPIEST BIRTHDAY TO A SUPER READER AND AWESOME WRITER!

    YOUR LOYAL FAN,
    Red Bear

  3. Paul D. Dail says:

    This was great. I especially like your evaluations of why you believe you read these books when you do. Funny stuff.

    I don’t know that I personally change authors by the weather, but I do adjust what I’m listening to. I remember the first couple of winters I lived in Missoula, Montana, I was listening to a lot of Pink Floyd. Probably not a really good idea.

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

Leave a Reply

