Happy Hobbit Day, Everyone!

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Thanks to The (Hopeful) Librarian, I was reminded that today is Hobbit Day aka the birthdays of two fellow (albeit fictional) virgos – Bilbo and Frodo Baggins.

It’s no big secret that I love Hobbits or that I am happiest when I am attempting to be one. My favorite Hobbit remains Samwise Gamgee, but I ended up naming my pet mice Merry and Pippin and obviously Sam would be among the first to celebrate Frodo’s birthday so… there you have it.

Thankfully Hobbit activities are very easy for me to pick up without a moment’s notice because, again, I pretty much am a Hobbit. So since I already did the whole good friends, good alcohol, and good food last weekend, I shall be spending a quiet afternoon/evening at home with Wildwood by Colin Meloy and a cup of tea. And possibly my knitting.

Then, in keeping with what I imagine to be Baggins Tradition, tomorrow I will wake up early and go on an adventure sans dwarves, wizards, and dragons but with plenty of YA authors. Huzzah!

Hobbit hole

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Bookish Announcement, Bookish Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Hobbit Day, Everyone!

  1. Marlene says:

    Lots of us wished Bilbo and Frodo a Happy Birthday yesterday. I did too at http://www.readingreality.net. Some of my fondest memories are of reading, and re-reading, the Lord of the Rings. Tolkien gave us a great gift, one that we can share again, and again.

  2. Paul D. Dail says:

    Virgos are the best (not that my birthday being on September 12th has anything to do with my opinion 🙂

    Sounds like your last week activities were pretty fun, and your relaxing plans sound good, too. So what exactly will you be doing with lots of YA authors? Are you referring to work? Or is something else happening? A conference or something?

    Paul D. Dail
    http://www.pauldail.com- A horror writer’s not necessarily horrific blog

Leave a Reply

