Highlights from the Book Horde #40

A weekly post where I list some of the awesome books I bought, received in the mail, or checked out of the library. Since I didn’t have time to post last week, this is an even more action-packed edition than usual. Particularly in terms of how much I received…

In the Mail:

The Song of Achilles: A Novel  An ARC of The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (March 6, 2011) from Ecco/HarperCollins. Holy cow. From just flipping through it, I know without a shadow of a doubt that this book is going to be perfect for me and one that I will cry over and gush about in the not too distant future.

Everneath (Everneath, #1)  An ARC of Eveneath by Brodi Ashton (January 3, 2012) from HarperCollins. I’m not sure if this is a book I would have asked for, but I am definitely intrigued and want to read it.

Firestorm: Destroyermen  In Blood We Trust (Bloodlands, #3) by Christine Cody  Review copies of Firestorm by Taylor Anderson (October 4) and In Blood We Trust by Christine Cody (September 27) from Penguin. I’m pretty sure I won’t be reading In Blood We Trust, but Firestorm looks awfully neat. I just have to figure out if it something I can read without picking up the rest of the series or not.

Flawless by Carrie Lofty Alterant (Belador, #2) by Sherrilyn Kenyon and Dianna Love  Review copies of Flawless by Carrie Lofty (September 27) and Alterant by Sherrilyn Kenyon and Diana Love (September 27) from Pocket. I have to admit. I’m definitely intrigued by both books particularly Flawless since it is a Historical Romance set in South Africa and one that deals with the diamond trade.

Ganymede (The Clockwork Century, #4) by Cherie Priest  Review copy of Ganymede by Cherie Priest (September 27) from Tor Books.

RedlawReview copy of Redlaw by James Lovegrove (September 27) from Solaris/Simon & Schuster.

Bought:
Ghouls of the Miskatonic by Graham McNeill – The first in The Dark Waters Trilogy and based on the Arkham Horror board games from Fantasy Flight Games. I tried my hand at the game just last weekend and I cannot wait to start on the books!

The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann – And I got it signed at the YA Conference I attended on Saturday.

From the Library:
Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
Dark of the Moon by Tracey Barrett
Fateful by Claudia Gray
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
New York to Dallas by J. D. Robb
Reamde by Neal Stephenson
Where There’s a Wolf, There’s a Way by Lisi Harrison – Monster High #3

About April

I'm a librarian, reader, and writer whose main goal in life is to be able to swim in books the way Scrooge McDuck swims in money. Although my reading choices will always be wildly eclectic and I never plan on leaving any genre unexplored, my favorite reads tend to be Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Gay Romance, or Historical Fiction. You can e-mail me at inspector[dot]librarian[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Book Horde, Shiny New Books, To Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Highlights from the Book Horde #40

  1. Oh, my only thing is I WISH I could read as fast as I pick up books. 🙂 This is a great list here. Hope you enjoy them all.

Leave a Reply

